We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place is absolutely beautiful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eaglewood Lodge

Exterior of Eaglewood Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Eaglewood Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Exterior of Eaglewood Lodge
Kitchen/dining room
Master bedroom
One of our new glamping pods Sleeps 2 -3
Moher lake four miles away with Croagh Patrick in the background
Traditional music session Matt Molloys pub
Quite backrods for cycling
Autumn colours
Gaelic Football Final Mayo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Durky2015
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Once we got there we all said to each other that we wished we were staying our whole trip there. It was close to Westport, yet out in the country! The space is beautiful and really well designed for a big group. We had our five children, two grandparents, and aunt and boyfriend and it was perfect! The kitchen is well equipped, the bathrooms are beautiful, the view is incredible. A great find!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen was great. Beautiful and comfortable space.
Liked least: We couldn't work the dryer... we didn't know about emptying the bottle from the condenser!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dec135
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb House in a Stunning part of Ireland.”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Eaglewood Lodge for 4 days over the Easter Holidays. There were 3 families ( 6 Adults and 6 children aged 3-9 years ). Check in was a little late at 5.30 pm due to a busy weekend check out prior to our arrival. This didn't matter as the sun was splitting the stones and the swings and slide and safe garden occupied the kids. The house is 15 minutes from Westport on the Connemara road to Leenane. We did a cross country route one day to Delphi via the Shefry Pass - must do with most breathtaking scenery. We also went to Old Head beach in Louisburg - 30 min drive and on the other day we drove 30 mins to Newport and did the greenway cycle. Yvonne's cottage is a lovely coffee stop outside Mulranny ( Newport side ). Sun cream was needed ! Each evening we cooked and Eaglewood has all the amenities you could ask for - the kids hung out in the mezzanine area and the garden so we never felt 12 people were on top of each other. There is ample sleeping room and lots of bathrooms including a fabulous master bathroom downstairs. You need to be a guru in recycling to stay here or you will be charged a hefty sum.
This house was perfect for our needs and would suit familes or groups of friends .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leoh397
Omagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wowsers!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Eaglewood Lodge for my sisters hen party of 16 ladies. What an amazing experience. Michael is a gentleman, he is so helpful and full of knowledge about the local area and its amenities. He even had the log fire lit and beautiful daffodils for our arrival.

The lodge itself has to be seen to be believed! Totally amazing workmanship. The lounge area was big enough for all of the hens to sit around together comfortably, which we all agreed, added to the craic we had. The jukebox provided the music for our first nights entertainment which meant we had a pj party and didn't even have to leave the cabin. There are two fridges so we were able to keep our alcoholic beverages chilled. Michael has a very strict recycling policy but he talks you through this on arrival and it really is no problem, the cabin is that beautiful, we didn't mind recycling.
I recommend Eaglewood Lodge to everyone reading this. Go on, you don't know what you're missing!!!!!
Thank you Michael

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, cleanliness, homeliness, facilities, four toilets, bedrooms, large lounging area, large dining area.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you're coming to Westport in a large group Eaglewood is the place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Eaglewood Lodge for three days around New Year's 2015 in a party of around 15 college friends who have since scattered around the world.

I speak for everyone in the fact that Eaglewood exceeded expectations on all fronts. Having read some of the longer reviews of the lodge I can reiterate the positives of the building and its amenities; the craftsmanship that went into the building is worthy of its own documentary!

As a large group we had a fantastic time - we brought inflatable beds but found we didn't need them as there are extra mattresses dotted around the bedrooms. We could cater for large groups in the beautiful kitchen and an extra fridge meant there was a place to store those New-Year beers!

Getting a taxi / minibus into Westport was an easy 20 minute trip and easily arranged over the phone. Michael the owner was more than helpful and always a call away.

The perfect way to ring in the new year with friends - I would definitely come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and the log fire
Liked least: Having to dispose of our own rubbush
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarGarvey
County Clare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in the West!”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

In a nutshell, it's almost how you'd picture the perfect luxury log cabin in the most incredible location, except way more.

The lodge is very easy to find and when we arrived, owner Michael had the fire on and fresh flowers waiting for us, and could not have been more accommodating. We were a party of four friends but it really would suit every combination of traveller, from young families to couples, honeymooners or a weekend away for colleagues, you name it. I truly can't recommend Eaglewood Lodge highly enough.

The accommodation - amazing. Huge open lounging area with big comfortable couch and armchairs, a wood burner AND and jukebox! Off that, there's a big 10 seater dining room table leading to a kitchen that's probably better equipped than your own at home. The ground floor has two enormous ensuite bedrooms, with very comfortable king sized beds. Plus there's a downstairs WC. Upstairs is a big mezzanine, with comfy couch and big tv. Off that there's the upstairs bathroom and two more enormous bedrooms, with double and single beds, whatever combination you might need really. The whole place is very tastefully decorated and while very spacious, it still feels incredible cosy.

There are a couple of steps up to the front door but there's a wrap around balcony giving easy access without having to use the steps and the two ensuites on the ground floor would make it accessible for those with walking aids or those a bit less able on their pins. A car is definitely recommended.

The location - the lodge is about a 15 / 20 minute drive (along a really good road) outside Westport. It's about an hour's drive, again on a great road, to Knock Airport but it's easily accessible from Shannon too (we arrived from Shannon and Knock). Take a left at the lodge and you'll come into the most incredible mountain range and beaches in Ireland, take a right and you'll hit woodlands and bogs and beautiful Westport town, that pretty much caters for everyone.

Words won't do the scenery justice so suffice to say it'll give you goosebumps. And don't overly worry about the weather, we had it all, sun, rain, hail, wind. Just bring waterproofs and shorts and you'll be fine.

To do - walking, hiking, as hard or as easy as you like, fishing, there are mountains to climb beaches to swim at, and picturesque towns to enjoy delicious pints and food (we'd all highly recommend Sage for dinner). Or just hold yourself up in the the lodge and write that novel.

I can honestly say this is one of the most amazing places I've ever stayed at, home or away. The only downside was we all had trouble leaving such an incredible place! We'll definitely be back and will all be spreading the word!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge itself, the hiking and Sage restaurant in Westport town for food.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing