We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Big, good looking house ideal for extended family...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eaglewood Lodge

Exterior of Eaglewood Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Eaglewood Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Exterior of Eaglewood Lodge
Kitchen/dining room
Master bedroom
One of our new glamping pods Sleeps 2 -3
Moher lake four miles away with Croagh Patrick in the background
Traditional music session Matt Molloys pub
Quite backrods for cycling
Autumn colours
Gaelic Football Final Mayo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hayesinkt
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big, good looking house ideal for extended family breaks”
Reviewed 17 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

A group of ten of us aged from 1 to 71 stayed in Eaglewoodlodge for a week in August 2011. It's every bit as lovely as the photos suggest - immaculately presented, extremely well supplied with utensils, games, info, and books - and the two separate living spaces suit the needs of a diverse group. The house is well located as a base for exploring Connemara (though we were slightly sad at the lack of pubs and shops within easy walking distance - it would be hard to stay here without a willing driver). We enjoyed the beautiful and almost empty beaches, stunning mountain scenery (don't miss the walk up Diamond Hill in Connemara National Park) and the log fires when we got back to base. Michael Gavin is very helpful and has lots of advice to offer on walking etc. Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Beautiful light spacious house
Liked least: Difficult to get anywhere on foot
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazzieboo...
Ireland
1 review
“Beautiful House, breathtaking views, just perfect!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Eaglewood lodge was a destination we chose for a weekend away with a group of friends to celebrate a 30th birthday. The house is located approx 15 miles (irish miles) outside Westport. We found it a little difficult to find the exact location, stopping a couple of times, thinking that we missed it. Thank god for the iphone maps ap. However once you reach the gate there is no uncertainty about where you are. The House is a magnificent log cabin lodge nestled on the side of the mountains. The exterior was beautiful, but nothing in comparison to the interior.... The large open fire place, free standing bath, huge panoramic window. This is certainly unlike the standards of any cabin I had ever stayed in before.
There was free wifi, which the lads made use of, getting updates of some match!
We also brought our own kareoke which was a laugh and plugged it into the tv, which is on the mezzanine level. We really liked that the TV was not near the fireplace as it encouraged us to chat more than get sucked into some silly programme.

We used the onsite barbeque both nights for dinner... which was so handy and reduced the cost of eating out and getting taxis etc. and of course celebrated with plenty of drinks. The house is well equipped with verything that you would need to stay for a week or two. Including a high chair, travel cot, washing machine, towels, small kids table and large dining table for adults. You could even bring your pets on holidays with you. During the day there is plenty to do in either Westport or Liscarney. The lodge contained lots of information on all amenities in the area., including fishing, walking, cycling adventure centres, fancy restaurants, boat rides, shopping. We chose to do a group pottery painting session in Pik a pot and Paint in the centre of Westport.

I would thoroughly reccommend this venue for a large family getaway/ A classy retreat hen party/ A Luxury retreat for a couple/ or a group of cyclist/walkers/fishing buddies. I am definitely going to return next year with the hope that there will be a hot tub to make the stay complete!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Amazing views
Liked least: Wifi access instructions difficult to locate
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACHEL V
BUTRY SUR OISE
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ireland at its best”
Reviewed 7 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011

A very warm welcome on arrival from Michael who was waiting for us. He was never far away when we needed something but despite his proximity we also felt very much in "our own home". The house was very warm and comfortable. A few hot water problems were always dealt with immediately. The region is fantastic and the excellent situation of the house enables you to visit many sites in a large radius around the property. The only complaint came from our kids who found we went out too often as they loved the house and would have prefered to stay in !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house layout and furnishings : very comfortable
Liked least: hard to say ....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Reviewed 2 July 2011 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewed 29 June 2011 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing