We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Stunning”
ENJOY THE NEW PHOTOS   UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THEM   FOR FULL WALKTHRUOGH SEE YOUTUBE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ENJOY THE NEW PHOTOS   UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THEM   FOR FULL WALKTHRUOGH SEE YOUTUBE
SEE ON YOUTUBE.   LAGAN OLD HEAD BEACH YouTube   Lagan Old Head Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
ENJOY THE NEW PHOTOS   UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THEM   FOR FULL WALKTHRUOGH SEE YOUTUBE
SEE ON YOUTUBE.   LAGAN OLD HEAD BEACH
YouTube   Lagan Old Head Beach
Sunset at Old Head taken from the house
Surfing at Carrowniskey beach Just 4 miles From the house
Croagh Patrick taken from house Winter . Very rare to have snow
Fully equipped utility room
Sunset on old Head
Old Head Beach  on your doorstep just 100 metres from your entrance !!!
Part of patio and Garden area
The front entrance taken June 6th 2013
This is the view of Sunset taken from within the house
Superking Beds
Front entrance June 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn Y
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I stayed at Lagan in late August for 1 week. It was a bit of a family reunion with some of us living in England and others scattered across Ireland - 13 of us in total. We had a warm welcome to a spotless house, lovely fresh bed linen and plenty of nice towels. The house is beautifully finished inside and out and is well thought out. It even has a warm outside shower to clean off the sand on return from the beach. We had children ranging from age 3 – 17 and the house met everyone’s needs - it was spacious and well kitted out too. It is literally 100 meters from the beach, The scenery is stunning with Croagh Patrick out one window and a magnificent view of the sea out the other window! It's a short drive to Louisburgh and a 20 minute drive to Westport. I would highly recommend staying at this house and if we go to the west coast of Ireland again I would not hesitate to stay here. A very memorable holiday, thank you Michael and your team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery and distance to the beach
Liked least: There wasn't anything that we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itamarial...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were a party of 7 spending a week at Lagan for the first time, my sister, my 2 sons, my daughter in law and my 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 4 years. On arrival we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the location, the great welcome we received from Michael, the owner, Margaret, the housekeeper, and Eamon, the caretaker, always available if needed but not necessary, as everything we needed for a perfect holiday was to be found in Lagan. The accommodation was excellent with lots of space, the kitchen facilities were all new and modern, the kids loved the water and ice dispenser. We loved all the extra touches, televisions in all the very comfortable bedrooms, modern bathrooms, 2 new hair dryers, barbecue, washing machine and dryer, outside shower essential with 2 very happy children covered in sand after a day on the beach. 2 very comfortable chairs by the window to enjoy the spectacular views, outstanding in all weathers, the sunsets, Croagh Patrick surrounded by clouds, my 6 year old grandson's comments on trying out one of the chairs "This is the life". Just sumed up the whole experience. The beach is a short stroll from the house for those into water sports or just to sit and enjoy. Louisburgh is close by and Westport just a little further but not to be missed. We also visited Achill, Cong, Galway and the family home in Kilmovee. The motorways are well signposted for those wanting to see a bit of Ireland. What a great place to spend a holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YarrumGal...
galway
1 review
“an outstanding holiday for all the family,best ever”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We rented LAGAN to celebrate a special birthday for my wife Eileen whose wish for her birthday was that we would get all family together----- 8 adults and 4 children
LAGAN was ideal providing the opportunities for every activity one could hope for.
The sea is 100 meters away with an excellent safe beach a mile long with water sports activities at the Old Head end. We availed of the opportunity to cycle the Green way , others did some mountaineering on Croagh Patrick. Westport and Westport house has extraordinary activity opportunities and alternatives if there is a wet or showery day.
Lagan itself isthe last word in luxury with 5 beautiful large bedrooms 4 of which are ensuite
Beds are large and super comfortable, There is a very large living dining room luxurious furniture and the panoramic views are breath taking of mountains and sea. There is excelent heating if needed, laundry facilities and top of the range kitchen equipment. Everything is on the flat with great accessibility. Ther are tvs every where and excellent wifi Outside there are beautiful lawns and an excellent barbecue
The liaison withthe owner is very personal and informal from the start. Johns visit with lots of brown bread is a beautiful and sensitive and generous touch. The housekeeping and maintenance services are almost immediately available delivered in a kind and efficient way For a family or group get together Lagan is unlikely to be surpassed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent. Definitely going back”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We've just returned from a long weekend at Lagan House. Our family party consisted of 9 adults and 2 children and Lagan more than comfortably accommodated everyone. The view from the glass walled lounge was second to none available in Ireland with Old Head Beach to the left and Croagh Patrick to the right. The facilities were top class and the beds were extremely comfortable. The five bathrooms/shower rooms were of hotel standard. There was an extensive paved barbecue area outside which was well equipped with outdoor furniture. Michael, the owner, informed us that the house is still a work in progress so I imagine it will be 5 star plus on completion. We definitely recommend this luxurious property and will without doubt be paying it another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & high standard accommodation
Liked least: Nothing we can think of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful home with equally gorgeous views”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The only bad thing I can say about our stay in Lagan that it ended too soon! We travelled with our family of eight, plus one infant. From our first minutes in the home, we were welcomed by Margaret, the housekeeper, and made to feel completely at home. Stunned by the breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick on one side and the bay on the other, we all agreed that we could have spent many more days enjoying Lagan. We were able to use the house as our home base from which to explore neighboring Westport, Bangor, Galway, and other attractions.

You really won't find a house that is as beautifully located and well appointed as Lagan. Working with the owner and his family was a true pleasure--all were so welcoming and accommodating. I cannot recommend Lagan enough! We're already planning our return!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing