We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THE NEW PHOTOS   SEE IT ON YOUTUBE. AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THE NEW PHOTOS   SEE IT ON YOUTUBE. AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH
YOUTUBE AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH FOR FULL WALK THROUGH
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
UPGRADE COMPLETE HOPE YOU LIKE THE NEW PHOTOS   SEE IT ON YOUTUBE. AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH
YOUTUBE AVALON OLD HEAD BEACH FOR FULL WALK THROUGH
1
1
Surfing at Carrowniskey Beach
Sunset as captured from house
old head sunset from the house
Old Head Beach literally on your doorstep
Old Head Beach
Wraparound Windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful house in a magical location overlooking Clew Bay with direct access to Old Head beach which we used for long walks every day.

12 of us stayed in the house and due to its size and layout it never seemed over crowded. This was enhanced by the open plan aspect and large panoramic windows which seemed to bring the outside in.

Dealing with the owner was a pleasure. He and his representatives in Lousiburgh ensured that we all had a fabulous holiday. Nothing was too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving at the end of holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AEMBuckin...
Buckinghamshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellently appointed holiday house with fantastic views”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great time staying in Avalon. The house was spacious and very light and airy. It was good to have plenty of living space and bathrooms so we weren't all on top of each other - ideal for 6 adults and 1 teenager. It would still feel spacious if we had had a full house. The wifi was a boon - especially for the younger member of the family! Avalon was well maintained, furnished and equipped.
There is no better place than Old Head beach, and to have the panoramic and unspoilt view from the window and a very short walk onto the sand, made Avalon an extra special place to relax, unwind and socialise.
Thank you - the memory of our stay is still keeping us going,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and well appointed house with fantastic views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie A
2 reviews
“Exceptional Irish Hospitality”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My family and friends stayed at Avalon, originally we planned to stay 2 nights but extended this to 3. If we had of been able to stay longer we would of because of the great home and hospitality the owner and his brother gave us. They made us feel very welcome from the start with a local homemade apple pie to driving directions in the middle of the night. I was very proud to say I had Irish heritage when I met people as wonderful as that. I would recommend taking time out and visiting this part of Ireland, it is well worth it.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan lounge and kitchen
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tommy77a
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for large family”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this house for a family get together in March. Booking with the owner Michael was very straightforward and easy, he was very helpful.
The house was fantastic as advertised. The views from the wrap around windows are amazing and the beach is a two minute walk away. We were a group of eight adults and eight children and we felt we had plenty of space. We liked the fact that the living area is one big space so that everyone was together at all times, even though it was big enough for one person to be reading, others watching the tv, while others cooked and chatted.
There are good cooking facilities,a tv , wi-fi and a washing machine.
The bedrooms were fine- clean and big enough.
Louisburgh is a 5 minute drive away and Westport about 20-25 mins. A taxi to or from Westport cost us €20 each way which we thought was ok between 4 of us who went out there in the evening to a pub.
In short ,a stunning house in a stunning location and we hope to return some day! We would highly recommend this house and this owner.
Just to add our deposit was returned extremely promptly with no difficulty at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views from the fabulous windows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing