We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicer than the website lets on!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Straffan, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nicer than the website lets on!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We got a very cheap deal on Pigsback.com - €136 for two nights B & B and both evening meals included! So, for that price we were happy. The staff were friendly and when we had some problems with our room, they were very helpful and attentive. (Although I found the eastern european barmaid a little abrupt!) The food was pretty good too and we didn't have any of the supplementary charge problems that other guests mentioned below. All in all, if you get a good deal, I would recommend it. It's not 5 star, but it's clean, modern and comfortable and very near Westport, Croagh Patrick and other lovely, local spots.

Room Tip: Try and get one that doesn't overlook the carpark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank byrned17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    89
    34
    15
    11
See reviews for
92
160
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a Groupon deal earlier this month. Lovely lobby area and fantastic modern clean room with incredible view of Croagh Patrick. Bed large and comfy.

Staff very pleasant and helpful. Had a meal in the bar first night, excellent value and drinks reasonably priced.

Breakfast next morning was standard fayre, waiter service with free newspapers. Drove the 2 miles into Westport and parking was easy. Had a walk about the town, lunch in the Mill Times Hotel was superb. Drove round the coast road to Louisburgh via Croagh Patrick.

That evening we took a taxi into Westport and got ripped off by the driver, €10 for the 2 mile journey (only €6 back). We went to a couple of pubs but were very disappointed with the fact that the vast majority of pubs and restaurants were closed. On speaking to locals it seems the economic problems in Ireland are really starting to bite.

All in all we would certainly go back to the hotel, but only in the summer when there's more going on in Westport.

Room Tip: Ask for room 108-112 for a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel has the appearance of a new build, everything is spotless and clean and can't be faulted in that regard. Our weekend package included dinner for both nights. I have to say, dinner to me means sitting down in a dining room to good food. Dinner here turned out to be average but tasty enough pub grub on night one, and not so great pub grub on night two, always and only served in their bar... Well it is pub grub. The deserts were great it must be said alright.

We climbed Croagh Patrick while there, and really enjoyed. But mostly were pleased to get some REALLY NICE food in the Tavern, which is the pink pub near by the car park. Now they know how to prepare food in there.

Towels were small in the bathroom. And one of the two shampoo bottles was taken and not replaced once open though not empty leaving us a bit tight for that. Small enough detail.
Bed was large and comfortable. Room was warm. (We has difficulty with getting the window open).

Overall, we got this weekend on a special deal, so I don't feel short changed. I wouldn't be overly impressed with paying their full rates though.

Staff really weren't that friendly at all. More clinical in their approach than anything else. There was a lovely girl from Hungary in the bar alright.

I guess in short my expectations were higher than the experience provided. But the deal on offer made up for that.

I hope you enjoy your stay if you do choose to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Went last year for our anniversary,thinking on going again this year and would definitely stay here again.The food was very good,a really tasty good old Irish breakfast,Great selection of beers and wines at the bar.Staff were excellent,especially the young english girl who upgraded us to the honeymoon suite as the hotel was quite at the time,she was so helpful about the things that we could do locally,Had a great time and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed in the hotel on January 28th on a deal for 1 night B&B, and an evening meal with late checkout. Having read some reviews on this site we were apprehensive about what we would experience, but I have to say that we had a fantastic time in a beautiful, clean and comfortable room. The staff were great, both at check in and bar/restaurant. The food was first class in the evening, and breakfast the next day was second to none! We will definitely return to the hotel, and thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
5.9 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
4.3 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
4.1 km away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hotel Westport
Hotel Westport
#8 of 14 in Westport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
4.1 km away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
4.3 km away
Clew Bay Hotel
Clew Bay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Country Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Country Lodge Hotel

Property: Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Address: | Aughagower, Westport, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Westport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Westport
Price range (per night): $78 - $235
Hotel Class:3 star — Westport Country Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westport Country Lodge Hotel provides guests “Traditional Hospitality” that the West of Ireland is famous for. Located just 3km from the award winning town of Westport, on grounds that stretch over 36 acres and an uninterrupted view of Ireland’s most famous mountain; Croagh Patrick, The Westport Country Lodge Hotel is the perfect location; presenting traditional Irish hospitality with the peace and tranquillity you cannot get in town. The Westport Country Lodge Hotel provides guests with the ultimate getaway at affordable prices, giving you value for your money and a real taste of Irish countryside. All our rooms are non-smoking and there are a variety of room types to choose from most of which enjoy stunning views of the local countryside and Croagh Patrick. Immerse yourself in the peace & comfort of one of our spacious, individually designed 21 guest rooms. Relax and enjoy; • Super King Beds • Egyptian Cotton bed linen • Flat Screen TV • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities • Complimentary Toiletries • Hair Dryer • Direct Dial Telephone Marrying traditional with modern, our hotel never disappoints our guests who do not want to sacrifice comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Westport Country Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Country Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing