We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient accomodation in Castlebar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Certificate of Excellence
Co Fermanagh,
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient accomodation in Castlebar.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We booked this place last minute as we were attending a show in town and the main hotels were full. It seems to be more geared for activity or family holidays rather than as a straightforward guest house so was not the height of luxury but it was perfect for our needs. All the staff we met were extremely helpful and friendly, I liked the double/twin/triple options in the bedroom and the breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty.

5 minutes walk brought us to town. I would certainly consider this for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stopout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    47
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
25
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Back from a one night stay with a youth group of 30 people. Found all facilities excellent, staff very helpful even with last minute changes. A great experience all round.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laveitso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I found out about Lough Lannagh by chance, when looking for accomadation neard the Theatre Royal in Castlebar. Lough Lannagh was a real find, literally 5 minute walk from the Theatre Royal and Castlebar town centre.

The room was clean and functional with everything you need provided, they also have a residents kitchen were you can store or prepare food.

The rate we paid included a breakfast, we decided to go for the full Irish breakfast. The serving was very generous, hot and tasty with as much juice and toast as you could want.

The staff were consistently friendly and helpful. Overall I would have to say Lough Lannagh was as good as some 4 star hotels I have stayed in. I would definite stay again and recommend it friends and family

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just back from a 2 night stay in Lough Lannagh with a group. We had a great time. The venue is great for a stay with a large group. The staff was amazing. They were very friendly, helpful and hard working. Felt very comfortable staying here. I appreciated the access to the residence kitchen; it proved to be very useful. It was great to have access to wifi and that hairdryers were provided in the room. We loved the location as it is in walking distance to the town center.

I would recommend that if possible, to reinstall the drinks vending machine. It is possible however that it was just knocked off by accident. Over all loved staying here and if I was returning to the area I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSAZ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I booked a room in this hotel at about 16:00pm for an employee to stay in the same night.(last night 13.10.2011) I received a call from said employee at 18:50 to say he is standing outside the "hotel" but the doors are locked and nobody is answering the phone.
I finally got an answer on the phone at 19:30 and was told that if I had read the small print, I would have seen that check in was 4pm-6pm. There was no offer to make an allowance for somebody who had been standing outside their hotel, no question of where my employee was going to sleep, and no suggestions as to where he should go.
This is not a hotel.
In 2011 I cannot believe this happens. I don't wish any bad to the people who own this hotel , but they've got serious issues to iron out.
Subsequently, my employee booked himself into a nearby hotel of a far higher standard for €55, as opposed to the €40 that the Lough Lannagh HOSTEL was charging.

Room Tip: Beware of check in hours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoughLannagh, General Manager at Lough Lannagh Holiday Village, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Mr Maher,

First of all thank you for your feedback which we received via Tripadvisor. We do make use of all constructive comments received, good or bad. Thankfully the vast majority of our guest experiences here are positive and reflect in their comments made directly to us or online.

I apologise most sincerely that we did not handle your booking better. What you experienced should not have happened, has never, to my knowledge, ever happened before and will not happen again.

Every property has terms and conditions of booking. I am quite sure that your business operates terms and conditions too. One of ours is that check in time is between 4 and 6pm. It is quite clear on booking.com, on our website and on the guest confirmation document. It is not in small print, it is in the body of the document in the same letter size as the other details.

The check-in time specified is there purely to allow us manage our reception opening times. It is very common in the accommodation sector to specify times for check in. We could adhere to it strictly in theory but, quite often guests use the ‘booker remarks’ facility when booking on-line to request a later or earlier check-in time. In practice the time is flexible. Our standard procedure would be that at 6.30pm you would have received a courtesy call asking for your expected time of arrival. At that point you would have told us 6.50pm 7.50pm, 8.50pm for example and we would have planned accordingly.

A mistake can happen and in your situation it did. We failed to retrieve your booking and so were not aware that your employee was coming. As we apparently had no bookings that evening we closed up the building including light, heating and the breakfast kitchen which made us unable to take any new bookings for the night. This normally is a sensible course of action to avoid waste but we should have had a better system in place to deal with your unexpected arrival. Next morning we put the necessary steps in place to deal with any future situation like that.

At the time we felt that you did not seem overly concerned at the situation, only that there would be not a charge made to your credit card. Clearly we were mistaken and the tone of your review reflects that.

My apologies once again that we did not handle the situation better at the time and my assurances to all who are concerned about early or late check in that it will not happen again.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Lennon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
0.6 km away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
858 reviews
1.5 km away
Breaffy Woods Hotel
Breaffy Woods Hotel
#4 of 8 in Castlebar
163 reviews
12.3 km away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
894 reviews
16.5 km away
Harbour Mill
Harbour Mill
#1 of 14 in Westport
550 reviews
15.1 km away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Lannagh Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Lannagh Holiday Village

Property: Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Address: Old Westport Rd, Castlebar, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Castlebar
Price range (per night): $120 - $145
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Lannagh Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village is a weather independent place to stay for visitors to Mayo and the surrounding area. We offer B&B, self-catering, caravan & camping and group accommodation for visitors as well as meeting rooms for conferences & workshops and cafe facilites for a quick bite to eat. Mayo's newest tourist route (opening Fall 2015) (The Greenway Walking and Cycling Route) passes through the grounds of Lough Lannagh Holiday Village. Individuals and groups welcome, special diets catered for, wheelchair and family friendly. Self Catering Castlebar & B&B Mayo Tourist Accommodation Whether you're looking to go on a family holiday, somewhere to stay for the night or you need to book your group in for a meeting or break, talk to us at Lough Lannagh Holiday Village Castlebar - we're sure we can help you. So what do you need? We have facilities for Bed and Breakfast, self catering holidays, conferences, meetings and groups of all sizes. See Tripadvisor for reviews. Whether staying for one night or a bit longer,, can offer excellent value, with terrific individual and group accommodation in a great location in Mayo, with so much going on Lough Lannagh Lodge AA 3 Star guest accommodation (24 ensuite bedrooms) Lough Lannagh ITB 4 star Self catering houses (11 cottages with in total 36 ensuite rooms. Lough Lannagh Caravan Park, ITB 3 star, 20 hardstanding bays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lough Lannagh Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village Hotel Castlebar
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village Castlebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing