We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The d Hotel Drogheda
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I book a package weekend for 32 people aged 19yr-75yr some wheelchair bound which included breakfast, dinner & tickets to see Christy Moore, we got a great rate wonderful food, services & fantastic staff.
Amanda in the reservations department was our star and managed our booking without any drama or hassle, she really went beyond her call of duty to ensure all our needs were catered for. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodated our large group with ease.
The hotel itself is flawless in its design,decor,comfort & suitability.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody it has something for everybody in a superb location.

Room Tip: smokers should book a room with a balcony in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank group19-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,016 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed for one night (Saturday).....Hotel is only a few years old and perfect condition...Nice room overlooking the Boyne river...very comfortable and spacious...Bathroom was very clean....Had Food in the bar, Caesar Salad, which was nice and not too expensive...Food at 3.30am is expensive though and is sandwiches only....Location is good, right beside scotch hall shopping center and only 10min walk from the main nightlife...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyEater29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights over Valentines and once again we had a very enjoyable time. The food is of a very high standard(as always)and, contrary to what others have been saying, we find the staff to be very pleasant and efficient. We had the Valentine's menu on our first night and everything was beautifully presented with the lamb and steak being perfectly cooked. There was music in the bar and although it was just one guy with keyboard and backing track, he played and sang a varied mix of songs to suit everyone. Our room was on the 4th floor with a riverside view and was very quiet, we weren't aware of anyone on either side of us although the hotel appeared to be quite full. The rooms are of a generous size with fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen tv,and extra pillows & blankets in the wardrobe. The beds are large and comfortable and the lighting is subdued but sufficient for reading! We have stayed here many times over the last few years and we always look forward to our short breaks at the d. The rate for two nights b & b and one dinner is very good value!

Room Tip: It's worth paying an extra 10euro per room per night for a superior room with a riverside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweens063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I must start my saying that we really did enjoy our stay at the D but that I felt there is just something missing... Still not exactly sure what.
The Hotel is well promoted on the internet and we availed of one of their special offer including tickets for the water park. 2adults and 2 children. Booking was friendly and efficient.
On arrival we found the location to be good, parking very accessible and the decor to be minimal. The receptionist were very pleasant and helpful. They also explained about the additional 50euro preauth on the credit card - I wish people would stop moaning about this - It is now standard policy for all good hotels.
We were told about dining and the kids club.
Our room was on the 4th floor and had a lovely view over the Boyne. A double, Single and Sofabed - The kids were fighting to sleep on the sofa bed. The style is very minimal - like Ikea! The lamps aren't very bright - for reading anyway. Everything else is fine. Good bathroom and tea making facilities etc. The corridors were also quite bare.
The kids really enjoyed the kids club and the young lady who looked after them really deserved a mention.
The food in the bar was very good and the 49euro with btw of wine is excellent. The service from the staff lets it down slightly.
Breakfast was very good.
Overall we enjoyed our trip. Great value, a few areas for improvement but we'll come back and stay a bit longer next time.
Thanks.

Room Tip: Great for families at holiday times
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarchyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just stayed in the d hotel with 3 kids.. Great value... Rooms very basic.. Very poor lighting.. Comfy beds.. Breakfast was good.. Dinner was terrible.. Would recommend it for being near attractions such as funtasia and tayto park.. Rooms cld do with a freshen up..

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scobab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
0.6 km away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
392 reviews
0.4 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
2.2 km away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
262 reviews
29.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
10.2 km away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The d Hotel Drogheda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The d Hotel Drogheda

Address: Scotch Hall, Marsh Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Drogheda
Price Range: $111 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The d Hotel Drogheda 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning d hotel, a luxury 4 star hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth Ireland is located on the banks of the historic River Boyne. This impressive waterfront location includes the Scotch Hall shopping complex and a purpose built pedestrian bridge to the town centre with its many traditional pubs and restaurants in Drogheda. The d hotel in Drogheda Co. Louth is only 40 minutes from Dublin using the Port Tunnel, only 25 minutes from Dublin airport and only an hour and a half from Belfast; making it the ideal base for a trip to the East Coast of Ireland. The d hotel in Louth Ireland was proud to be the players hotel for the European Tour 3 Irish Open Golf Tournament which was held at the nearby County Louth Golf Course (Baltray) from the 14th to the 17th of May 2009. The d hotel is the perfect hotel for The TLT Theatre Drogheda and the Funtasia Waterpark Drogheda as well as being the Festival Hotel for the Drogheda Arts Festival, the Drogheda Samba Festival, the Drogheda Guitar Festival and the Clogherhead Prawn Festival. Accommodation In Drogheda: Our Drogheda hotel in County Louth Ireland offers 104 superb bedrooms designed for guest comfort and relaxation, many with superb views over the river and town. We have two penthouse suites, the light and dark rooms; luxury at its finest and ideal for special occasions. Please note the d hotel is a non smoking hotel. Hotel Dining: Hotel dining at the d is an experience… Not only will the menus satisfy your taste buds, The Viaduct Bar & Grill opens onto riverside terraces and a promenade with superb views of historic Drogheda. This truly offers a fantastic dining experience at one of the finest restaurants Louth has to offer. Louth Weddings: The d hotel is Drogheda's premier wedding venue, with a capacity for up to 250 guests in our Viaduct Suite, which opens out on to the Riverside Terrace. We specialise in making weddings unique and will create exclusive packages for you at a price that suits you at one of the leading luxury wedding hotels in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming you to the d hotel in Louth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The d Hotel Drogheda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Hotel Drogheda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing