We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic ambiance, outstanding comfort”
other travellers have booked this property
Two bedroom cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two bedroom cottage
Welcome to Coolbeg Lodge View from main entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Two bedroom cottage
Welcome to Coolbeg Lodge
View from main entrance
Boy in courtyard garden
Roses blooming
Colourful summer  flower bed
Entrance hall
Dining area
Sitting room
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Gorse in bloom
Welcoming pink rose bush
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Limerick, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sandy S
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Romantic ambiance, outstanding comfort”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Having become accustomed to overly-flattering photos posted by owners of accommodations we’d booked, we were pleasantly surprised by Coolbeg Lodge, an L-shaped compound of attached gray stone cottages in Kildimo, a few miles west of Limerick. Our unit was attractively appointed, with a big arched window giving light into the combined living and dining room. Window boxes full of pansies decorated the front. The daffodils in the tree-shaded yard were past their early spring peak but were nonetheless a nice touch. The kitchen was separate and had everything we needed and more – THREE vegetable peelers! Since there were two bedrooms, we used one for luggage. Pat, the owner, greeted us warmly and explained that he had owned the property for 20 years. He seemed to be constantly improving it. Granted, the nearest supermarket was miles away, but we’d been forewarned and had stocked up in Listowel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review.We are so glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the cottage.We do our best to ensure our guests have the best possible experience. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests at Coolbeg Lodge & we hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukekinva...
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at coolbeg lodge for a weekend in March 2017. The location is great and the accommodation was clean. Pat the host is very friendly. Brought us a plate of buns on arrival.
Its a bit cramped for four adults. Also the apartment could do with a face lift. The sitting room area is not very comfortable. We were charged for heating at a rate of approx €1 an hour. It is not stated anywhere on the booking form that heat had to be payed for.
Would I go back? No. Would I recommend this place? No.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
We regret to hear that your stay at Coolbeg Lodge did not meet your expectations. We try our best to ensure that all our guests have a very satisfactory, enjoyable and comfortable experience .The cottage has a traditional old world ambience unlike the feel of a modern apartment but yet provides the comforts of modern day living.We pride ourselves in having everything in perfect condition for our guests. From the very positive feedback we have graciously received from previous guests we truly believe that the cottage meets the needs of our valued guests perfectly. We will continue to give the best service to all who choose to stay with us

Contrary to the statement regarding heating charge not being mentioned on the booking form, may I advise that it is clearly stated under ' Additional rates & Availability information ' 'Heating & electricity are calculated on a meter & payable on departure.'
Furthermore the cost of 1 euro per hour quoted in this review is incorrect .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester...
leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely 2 bedroomed 'lodge'.”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Very homely, clean and tidy, not too far from Limerick. We stayed here as we were going to watch rugby at the Thomond Park Stadium. We were welcomed by Pat, the owner, with lovely homemade cake. Parking right outside the property. Beds very comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thank you for your very positive review. It is much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_maistrox...
Stockton, California
1 review
“Coolbeg Lodge”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Perfection!! The owners, amenities, and the Lodge made my vacation to Ireland the very best! I highly recommend to anyone to stay there and experience it's old world charm!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
Delighted you were happy with your stay at Coolbeg Lodge & enjoyed your trip to Ireland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kedron308
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, plenty of space, comfortable house.”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Good size bedrooms plenty or room and storage room, lounge/dining room a bit small and would not be very comfortable for more than two or three people. Kitchen adequately equipped, could do with a little attention to the cobwebs in corners.
Parking good facilities. Quite a distance from pubs with meals but locals good for a drink. Has a washing machine but no clothes dryer which is a bit difficult.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Was very pretty looking cottage.
Liked least: Lack of clothes dryer.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing