We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent for walking and biking”
other travellers have booked this property
There is no fire like your own fire.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
There is no fire like your own fire.
Our lodges The children's play area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
There is no fire like your own fire.
Our lodges
The children's play area
The adventure area for the older children
Plenty of space
The View
The View
The View
The Mountain Bike Park nearby
The Gate Lodge near the lodges. great walking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Willy B
Niel, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for walking and biking”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one week in this beautiful chalet. Ita was always ready to give us tips and advice and even brought a pizza for our first evening.
Excellent place to explore the Ballyhoura mountains . The well signed loopwalks and the mountainbike track were nearby.
We had a perfect vacation !!
If you love to walk or to bike this is the place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space and quietness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarcube...
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really a "Home Away From Home" Thanks Ita & team”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 3 nights on a Living Social deal & honestly it was over & above all my expectations. We planned to mountain bike at the nearby trails & the location couldn't have been any better.
The housekeeping team were there when we arrived & the place was like a new pin with everything you could ask for. Ita called down to see that everything was OK & had plenty of info on the surrounding area.
It's quiet & out of the way, perfect for us with plenty of space inside & out. There's a friendly pub a short walk away to enjoy a pint in the sunshine after a hard day's trail riding. We will definitely stay here again when visiting the area.
One note : Electricity is an extra cost which isn't made clear on the Living Social voucher. Not that it was an issue but worth noting. Thanks again Ita & team

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaeveOC
County Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pure hidden gem - a hit with all the family”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent 3 nights in Ballyhoura Mountain Lodges in June with our 4 children ranging in age from 14 to 5 and had an absolute ball. Our eldest was reluctant but even though he wouldn't admit it he had a ball. Our youngest daughter (5 years old), reckoned the house was "nicer than our own". Ita was fantastic and made us feel at home from the second we arrived (the delicious home-made cake didn't last very long!!). It was a perfect base and although we didn't venture very far, the activities suggested in the brochure all sounded fab. the kids loved the playground and it was safe to let them roam around. The renowned bike trails were a 20 minute cycle away or a 5 minute car journey. Definitely a place we will returning to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property, rural location, proximity to amenities.....
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Hi Willy. Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your holiday with Ballyhoura Mountain Lodges. Ita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranCl
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fifth time staying here - truly magical visit as always - will be back!”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here again with our two boys - 5 and nearly 3 - and once again we all loved it

My parents came up to stay for a few nights and they also loved it

And what's not to love? The lodge itself is pristine, incredibly clean and cosy with a proper stove (recessed into the wall and has a guard so is safe for kids). Modern kitchen, comfortable beds etc

Outside you have it all - beautiful forest walks, bike trails, lush countryside and even a tiny bridge from which to throw sticks into a murmuring brook (surprising how much fun this can be to young kids!)

We all feel revived after our week and my boys have started asking already when they can 'go back to ballyorgan'

There are two playgrounds - one for smaller kids and a zipline for bigger ones

But really, yet again came down to the indefatigable Ita who made our holiday - nothing is too much trouble - hospitality at its very, very best

Will return....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIERSQUIN
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The area is stunning and the accommodation is excellent. Look no further for a place to stay. I have stayed in a lot of places in this area as I have family near by, this is the best place to stay, so far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of the property
Liked least: no internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 277
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing