We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
44
68
57
31
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
68
57
31
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quick taxi hotel standards taxi fare friendly man twenty minute walk convenient hotel one night stay hot water power shower hotel bar short walk into town comfortable stay stayed here for two nights buffet style lovely hotel brendan
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here last Monday week and on Tuesday morning were woke by a extremely ignorant man called Ted pounding on the door. He was demanding us out of the room and he had guards at reception and that he wanted to inspect it. I opened the door and told him that my partner was in the bed undressed and he just barged past me into the room. He said that they received a noise complaint the night before and all the residents were terrified. Now to be fair we were both pretty smashed when we landed back there and there was a bit of banter but not to the extreme this man was shouting about. We proceeded to check out and once again was greeted with more ignorance from Ted and a woman on the desk. I asked why was this so called noise complaint not addressed at the time and he told me there were no staff on duty and just to simply get out. Shocking treatment after paying 95e for a room in this place. AVOID

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkennyHouse, Reception at Kilkenny House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening Ray,

Thank you for your review.
There was an extreme amount of shouting and what sounded like fighting when you returned back to the hotel and there were a number of noise complaints from other guests that you had both disturbed.
These issues had to be addressed at the earliest convenience which was in the morning.

Regards,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

The hotel is situated about a fifteen minute walk from the centre of Kilkenny. Remembering that this hotel is classified as three star, it is highly comfortable with a nice atmosphere and there is a good sized bar as well. Breakfast is very good, varied and well laid out. The gentlemen at reception were kind and most helpful. Good hotel to stay in. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkennyHouse, Reception at Kilkenny House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening Gerry

Thank you for your review and kind comments, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and you would be more than welcome here again.

Kind regards, Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Good location with parking facilities. Clean and comfortable with modern furnishings, a decent breakfast and all at a reasonable price. Best of all? Brendan, the friendly, attentive member of staff on reception who provided lots of extra info to ensure our stay was a good one. Thank you!
Would we stay again? Definitely!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bass007Larnaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkennyHouse, Reception at Kilkenny House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening,

Thank you for your review and very kind comments. I am pleased to know that you both enjoyed your stay and I would be delighted to welcome you here again.

Kind regards, Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Myself and my cousin stayed here for two nights and had a lovely stay. The staff make this place. Ted, the owner, who is on the desk is a lovely friendly man and it is nice to actually have a genuinely nice person to greet you and answer any questions, instead of some insincere over the top receptionist who you know deep down has no more interest in being there only that it pays the bills!
Beds are so comfy and over all the hotel was quite quiet at night so a decent nights sleep is guaranteed. It is old fashioned and lacking any 21st century gadgets but i think that is what makes it so special and unique. I would choose a hotel like this over an overly priced, in your face, fancy, fake hotel any day!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irish_Ciara89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkennyHouse, Reception at Kilkenny House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Ciara,

Thank you for your review, very kind comments and high score rating, it is most appreciated.
We would be more than happy to welcome you here again.

Kind regards, Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

If you’re touring in Ireland and you want a nice room, good bed for an acceptable price, this hotel would meet you’re expectations. Kilkenny is one of the more attractive cities, but just out of walking distance...

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank BobGoossens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkennyHouse, Reception at Kilkenny House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Bob

Thank you for your review and comments.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards, Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews