We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Butler House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Butler House
Ranked #6 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Living in Ireland we have travelled to Kilkenny many, many times, however this was our first stay in Butler House. To stay in Butler House is a privilage - the house is almost 300 years old, built as the Dower House to Kilkenny Castle, so it's as close to staying in the castle as you could get! despite being 300 years old the house has been extensively refurbished so it is magnificent, warm, comfortable and inviting. We had a room overlooking the gardens and the castle. We loved the short stroll through the gardens to the design centre for breakfast every morning.

The staff were superb, their friendliness, courtesy and service was second to none.

The location is wonderful, we parked our car at the start of our stay and didn't need it again until we left, Kilkenny Castle and the City is on your doorstep.

We had previously stayed in hotels on visits to Kilkenny and being honest we had found that one hotel room was as generic as the next. Butler House does not have a spa, a bar, a gym etc - however it has an ambience that is truly unique- you will never forget your stay in Butler House.

Will we stay again? - most definitely, we are already planning our return trip!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    111
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
102
199
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

A 3-day trip to the lovely Medieval city of Kilkenny was made even more enjoyable with a stay at the Butler House. The Georgian building is gorgeous with original details throughout the interiior. The more contemporary Craftsman fuirniture is an elegant complement to the building. We had a garden and castle view that was lovely. The staff was very helpful and accommodating and the breakfast in the Design Centre was excellent. The walk from the House to the Centre is short and beautiful. We were within easy walking distance to everthing in town. If you are desparate for internet in your room make sure you inquire about that since some rooms are a little distant from the source of the service. However it is easy to go to the lovely living room with welcoming fire for strong wireless access. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arizbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We were delighted to Book a room in Butler house based upon the recommendations upon this site, and boy we were not disappointed. If carlsberg provided b & b based on location they would choose Butler house as their number one in the marble city. We appreciate it was New Years Eve that we stayed. the place was full and we did end up with the last room in the place, however out comfort was not compromised in any way, after a long journey in damp dark weather we were very pleased met by a very welcoming receptionist, immediately we relaxed, soaked in the huge bath and took in the sights smells and charms of the city, nothing seems to top Kilkenny for a night out or a weekend away and once again it did'nt dissappoint. Easy walk across the grounds next morning to Kilkenny Design Cafe for a plentiful breakfast, the Breads, Meusli's and juices were lovely but the cooked breakfast from the bain marie was a little unpalatable but this small shortfall out of a long list of positives failed to put us off the magic of the place.You must take the opportunity to meander across to the castle grounds, its a beautiful walk and place to visit. We found Richard and his staff so welcoming we will certainly be back and we hope you will visit them too, Paul

Room Tip: Rooms over the Castle gardens are the ones to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnIslandVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Fantastic location and even better service. The staff looked for 40 minutes for the convertor I left back in the states, they were truly upset they could not help. The room was very clean, huge, with a nice bath. The view was exceptional. Easy walk to the city center. You have to walk next door for the breakfast because the Butler House does not have a kitchen. You get a coupon for your breakfast and it is worth the walk through the gardens and old stables. Recommend you continue on from breakfast to tour the castle. Will return for a longer stay next trip to Kilkenny. Only bad thing is that there is no lift in the house, which is understandable for its age. There is a handicap chair lift, but nothing for your bags.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room overlooking the gardens, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alchapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We took a 10 day driving tour of Ireland and this was probably the nicest B&B that we stayed in. The room overlooking the garden was amazing. It was just a few steps through the garden to breakfast and a few more to Butler Castle- the tour is a must. Great location close to restaurants and pubs. The staff was very helpful in suggesting places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_P660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,666 reviews
0.3 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
735 reviews
0.2 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,598 reviews
1.9 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House

Property: Butler House
Address: 16 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price range (per night): $185 - $386
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butler House, Luxury Guesthouse - formally the Dower House of Kilkenny Castle built in 1770. This historical house is situated in the centre of Kilkenny City, adjacent to Kilkenny Castle. An integral part of the Kilkenny Castle Estate, Butler house was home to the Earls of Ormonde, who also built the castle, stables and coach houses at the rear. Sweeping staircases, magnificent plastered ceilings and marble fireplaces are all features of this 18th century house. The house is a combination of contemporary furnishings and period elegance. Butler House boasts thirteen special rooms and suites, all with their own individual character. Designed to provide maximum comfort, each has a modern bathroom, and is decorated with soft coordinated fabrics and furnishings. The balance of old and new is prevalent throughout the rooms – contemporary furnishings are combined with the magnificent original features, which afford guests an impressive sense of comfort and space. The spacious superior rooms and suites have bow windows, which overlook the secluded gardens and Kilkenny Castle.In Room Facilities include: Queen Sized BedsMulti Channel HD TVHair DryerTea/Coffee FacilitiesTelephoneSafeComplimentary WIFI accessComplimentary Mineral WaterOn Site Facilities include:Free Private Car ParkComplimentary Full Irish breakfast (served in the Kilkenny Design Centre)Access to the walled gardenDVD PlayerCots for babiesBabysitting Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Butler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing