We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”
Review of Left Bank

Left Bank
Ranked #6 of 233 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Had a lovely meal here recently. Went for the Early Bird on a Sunday evening. The service was excellent and the food delicious. It is a bit dark but that creates a certain atmosphere. I would like to see a bit more of a variety on the menu, otherwise I would highly recommend this restaurant. Enjoyed a cocktail in the bar afterwards.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeftBank1, Guest Relations Manager at Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our bar.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us & we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

First visit was excellent. Service excellent. Food excellent. So naturally we went back a month or so later expecting a similar experience. The bar was full so we were put in the restaurant. The male server who looked for seats for us was very nice and accommodating. He said we could have the brunch menu in the restaurant. This must not have been relayed to the female server in the restaurant as she briskly told us "I don't do brunch". Then after going back to the male server we got the brunch menu. One of our party of 6 wanted a vegetarian sandwich and was told she could only have the sandwich of the day which was prawn. Last time we were there the kitchen made up a cheese sandwich, no problems were encountered and it was very nice. This time she was not allowed have anything off menu and the female server kept briskly pointing at a salad telling her that's what she could have. We found it all very strange and rude. All the other food was good and I do like the innovation Left Bank have in the kitchen and would definitely go back and recommend it to everyone if I could rely on consistency.

Thank caitini G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeftBank1, Manager at Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our bar.

I am sorry you had this experience on your last visit with us.

We take all feedback both positive / negative on board.

We have taken your comment on inconsistency onboard and we have taken action on it.

We hope you return to a better experience on your next visit.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This place is absolutely gorgeous, the food was excellent and we really enjoyed it however at €49 for two lunches and two drinks we found it slightly expensive

Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeftBank1, Guest Relations Manager at Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our bar.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us & we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent service, friendly staff and great pints. What more can you ask for. This is truly a super sized gastro pub. Nuks and crannies everywhere with plenty of activity inside and out. A great night out guaranteed.

Thank kenandpamelanoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeftBank1, Guest Relations Manager at Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our bar.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us & we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Some cocktails, a chilled bottle of wine and seats by an open window that overlooks the busy junction at the Parade. All life passes by this crossroads. Pull up a seat! Lovely service, pleasant and attentive staff. Why wouldn't you come back?

Thank Gonzo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeftBank1, Guest Relations Manager at Left Bank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our bar.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us & we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Left Bank also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing