We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, relaxing stay in the Irish countryside”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
xarahmed
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stay in the Irish countryside”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely piece of Irish countryside. We had a fantastic time at the cottage. Our puppy absolutely loved the enclosed garden. Breda was lovely and most welcoming. She gave us some good tips and pointers for places to visit too. The cottage is great - modern comforts in a lovely country setting. The wood burning stoves were the icing on the cake. The cottage was very neat and clean. Well located to visit popular destinations. We drove to Cliffs of Moher in a day trip. Kilkenny is only 10 mins away and Aldi etc just down the road. We are already looking forward to visiting again soon. Thanks Breda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer...
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time in Ireland . Meeting Breda and having some nice chats showed us how friendly Irish people could be. This was the beginning of our trip and it was a lovely start.
Breda is a wealth of information and has a lovely sense of humor.
The cottage has everything you need and is in a quiet spot where you only hear the occasional moo of a cow. We didn't spend much time outside on the property as the weather was still a bit cool and damp and we basically were only there in the am and in the evening. I tell you this because the yard is lovely and there is a nice patio to sit on.
You wont go wrong picking this cottage. Many sites to visit close by.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful ,Cosy Cottage in a lovely spot!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We`ve just returned from 10 nights at Molassey Cottage & had a great time.We were after a quiet break & thats exactly what we got, as the cottage is in a lovely rural spot but it is close enough to road networks & amenities so that you don`t feel isolated & the cottage is equipped with absolutely everything you need.
Once we got out of Dublin,we had no problem finding the cottage as Breda supplied excellent directions & when we arrived she had the log burner going & had stocked the cupboards with essentials so that we had a relaxing start to our break & she was there for any advice & information we needed throughout our stay.
All in all,this is a great spot to discover Ireland & if you`re after getting away from it all then there is nowhere better......& .your dog will love the huge garden & woods....i know ours did !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy log burning stoves.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVST83827...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous holidays!”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in Molassy Cottage. Breda was very nice and helpful. She arranged absolutely everything perfect and impressed us with her warm hospitality. The cottage is perfect equipped with everything you need. The two fireplaces make a cosy atmosphere. The location is total quite and perfect for trips to the south or east coast of Ireland.We will come back- definitely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm Irish welcome and charm at Molassy Cottage”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Breda and Joe had though of all the creature comforts to make our stay homely and warm, literally and figuratively. Breda is so kind, helpful and loving; we felt we had known her for years. Could not do enough for us. Two coal and wood burning fires kept us toasty and the Icey winds at bay. Recommend to all who love rural peace and quiet (within easy driving distance) tasteful decore and clean, crisp linen. Thanks Breda and Joe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen fire
Liked least: The religious icons
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing