We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
87
47
18
17
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
47
18
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrafter dempseyssteak on a stonestayed herequaint pubhen partyhigh streetno liftgerryraftedstagsladsaccommodationcraicirelandplug
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here start of Jan, the location is excellent right in middle of city centre on a quiet side street.. Close to AIB bank, other pubs and shopping.. The food was excellent, rooms were small but clean and tidy. The staff were so friendly and paid an interest in customers.. made us feel very welcome.. There was a night porter there called Patrick he went above and beyond to look after us.. We didn’t arrive back till late after all pubs were closed, he answered the door to us immediately to let us in and escorted us upstairs to make sure we were ok he was such a nice man, also went behind the bar and gave us pints of water and ice. Will definitely stay here again would highly recommend. Thanks again

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Privatexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1960Ireland, Manager at The 'Rafter' Dempsey's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for your comments and are very glad you were happy with us and look forward to seeing you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Stayed here with a group of lads for a stag, and while it suited us just fine, a few of us felt it was poor value for money.

Rafter Dempsey's is basic in the extreme, yet the price charged - €140 for a tiny twin room with dinner and breakfast included was a bit much.

The location is great; on a side street in the centre of Kilkenny so it's nice and quiet. Nearest parking was the Q park a few minute walk away. As for the accommodation, check in was grand and we were given a key and went up to the room...it was like stepping back to the 90's. There were two rock hard single beds, one bedside locker with a light and a tiny TV with a handful of channels. The bathroom was extremely basic and reasonably clean. The rooms were absolutely freezing, there didn't seem to be any heating on and when we mentioned it to the man behind the bar, he laughed it off, mumbled something to the effect of he'll sort it out. Which he didn't.

We were there in a large group and went to the other rooms and they were all quite similar. The positives were that it is a bit of a 'free for all' and I think that's the benefit for stags. We stayed up late drinking in the rooms and we weren't bothered at all.

As for the food, it was fine. Staff we met were all friendly and by all accounts, the early risers thought breakfast was nice.

This place is good for a large group of lads looking to go on the booze for a weekend without the hassle of night porters banging on doors and people complaining.

But €140 in early January for dated, tiny rooms and practically no heating, even with a meal included.....you must be kidding me.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fredkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1960Ireland, Manager at The 'Rafter' Dempsey's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and i hope we can meet you again and iron out any concerns that you have.
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had to go to kilkenny for a friend's party recently and the rafter dempseys was chosen (not by us) for accommodation.i had a quick look on trip advisor and as our friends were booked in decided it'd be fine .big mistake.this place is basically a very basic bed and breakfast mostly aimed at stags and hens.the rooms are tiny and very dated.if your on a stag or hen I'm sure it's fine but if you want a bit of comfort with your partner go elsewhere.we paid 125 euro for the experience which should be no more than 70.the breakfast was good and the pub itself is a fine pub..just be sure what your looking for when booking a room.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank tommyowens96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1960Ireland, Manager at The 'Rafter' Dempsey's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Sorry you didnt have a positive experience of the Rafter Dempseys.
Perhaps you got one of the rooms that are used as we sell out the other rooms....as a gesture of goodwill, please contact me directly, and I will ensure you get a nice room when you come to Kilkenny, compliments of us.
Gerry, The Rafter Dempseys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

I was planning on visiting Rafter Dempsey’s this coming New Years but unfortunately had to cancel my trip. The staff were extremely understanding and I couldn’t recommend this place enough from reviews I’ve been told by close friends. Will definitely plan on visiting soon.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1960Ireland, Manager at The 'Rafter' Dempsey's, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

No problem !Thanks for your kind comments and we hope to see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

was so looking forward to our night away as i recently buried my mom and wanted a break from it all booked on booking . com rang the accomadation several times no reply and when we got there spoke with the boss said how i tried to ring no reply was too busy to answer phone how rude was that the room very basic for the money no heat had to use hair dryer to heat up and asked twice ti turn on heat no joy so disappointing didt think the manager was approachable breakfast was good

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews