We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous Hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a lovely time at this hotel at the weekend for 3 nights, attending a family wedding on Friday 09-03-12. What stood out most was the excellent staff and the service, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very modern, large, comfortable and had everything we needed. The wedding meal was lovely with extremely large portions. The gardens are very nice and I can imagine that in summer they will look stunning.

What chance of having roast potatoes, jackets or new potatoes on the menu for next time. Not a negative, but would like more choice.

Overall a fantastic time was had by all. Thanks to all the lovely staff at this hotel.

Tess & Tony

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear on the first floor - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Teresa M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding reception here at Ballygarry House and that you enjoyed your overall stay. We are very proud of our staff who carry out their duties with the utmost of service and attention that we always pride ourselves on, and it is always a great boost when they are acknowledged for this.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    203
    47
    14
    9
See reviews for
310
497
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

After two glorious nights at this beautiful hotel, we are full of admiration for the amenities, friendly staff, excellent food, a comfortable and spacious room and great surroundings. It is a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: A room with a perfect view of the Slieve Mish mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Liam F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that you will get the opportunity to return again soon.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is one of the finest 4 star hotels in Ireland. A warm welcome greeted us last Sunday night - a dark Winter night., followed by the offer of help with our bags., which we declined.

Our room was spacious, and very well appointed. The housekeeping was without fault, and every night our bedroom was turned down. Courtesy and Care are the hallmarks of the staff at this elegantly appointed hotel. They could not do enough for you.

The food, be it in the bar or restaurant was the best we have experienced in an Irish hotel. One afternoon, we sought tea in the bar, and we were encouraged to try their ‘ Caring and Sharing’ dessert as well. This was just beautiful and to die for! The Seafood Chowder and the Mushroom Sauce are brilliant. With the latter. It can be difficult to get the flavours right, but they did, and both were freshly prepared like everything else.

Ballygarry House Hotel sets the standard, for others to aspire to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeadarGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear PeadarGalway,

I would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words and review of your stay with us. We are thrilled with your positive feedback and I have shared all of our recent reviews at our head of department meeting last week. The sharing dessert is a popular choice- I do hope you will return to sample this again.

Kindest regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel has it all. We have stayed here a few times now and will keep returning as it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The receptionists will always recognise that you stayed before and are very welcoming. The rooms are beautiful and the bar and restaurant have gorgeous food. The spa is also lovely and the outdoor hot tub is very refreshing. We will definately be returning .

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ness97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Ness97,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of visiting us here at Ballygarry House. I am delighted with your kind words and will pass them on to all involved. Tho Hot tub is a very popular facility indeed! I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Everything about this hotel is top notch. Great staff, great food, great room and a fabulous spa. Highly recommend visiting.

Room Tip: Stayed in most basic room i think and it was very spacious and very comfortable. Big bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buntward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Buntward,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tralee
3.3 km away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.8 km away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
26.2 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
27.1 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
3.2 km away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Property: Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price range (per night): $157 - $239
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing