We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ashe Hotel(Tralee)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveller rating
1,278
233
56
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,278
233
56
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrooks restaurantrelaxation roomthe outdoor hot tubthermal suitetop classbeautiful hoteldrinks receptionfrom start to finishfamily weddingwedding receptionwould highly recommend this hotelfood was amazingrelaxing breaksecond to noneboth morningslast weekendmain course
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,380 - 1,385 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

After two glorious nights at this beautiful hotel, we are full of admiration for the amenities, friendly staff, excellent food, a comfortable and spacious room and great surroundings. It is a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: A room with a perfect view of the Slieve Mish mountain range.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Liam F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that you will get the opportunity to return again soon.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is one of the finest 4 star hotels in Ireland. A warm welcome greeted us last Sunday night - a dark Winter night., followed by the offer of help with our bags., which we declined.

Our room was spacious, and very well appointed. The housekeeping was without fault, and every night our bedroom was turned down. Courtesy and Care are the hallmarks of the staff at this elegantly appointed hotel. They could not do enough for you.

The food, be it in the bar or restaurant was the best we have experienced in an Irish hotel. One afternoon, we sought tea in the bar, and we were encouraged to try their ‘ Caring and Sharing’ dessert as well. This was just beautiful and to die for! The Seafood Chowder and the Mushroom Sauce are brilliant. With the latter. It can be difficult to get the flavours right, but they did, and both were freshly prepared like everything else.

Ballygarry House Hotel sets the standard, for others to aspire to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeadarGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear PeadarGalway,

I would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words and review of your stay with us. We are thrilled with your positive feedback and I have shared all of our recent reviews at our head of department meeting last week. The sharing dessert is a popular choice- I do hope you will return to sample this again.

Kindest regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel has it all. We have stayed here a few times now and will keep returning as it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The receptionists will always recognise that you stayed before and are very welcoming. The rooms are beautiful and the bar and restaurant have gorgeous food. The spa is also lovely and the outdoor hot tub is very refreshing. We will definately be returning .

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lovely garden.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ness97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Ness97,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of visiting us here at Ballygarry House. I am delighted with your kind words and will pass them on to all involved. Tho Hot tub is a very popular facility indeed! I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Everything about this hotel is top notch. Great staff, great food, great room and a fabulous spa. Highly recommend visiting.

Room Tip: Stayed in most basic room i think and it was very spacious and very comfortable. Big bed!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buntward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Buntward,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Have just returned from a really lovely Stay in Ballgarry. We had a 2 night weekend stay with dinner& b&b. Had a great impression of the hotel from the get go as on the Thursday prior to us travelling the hotel contacted me to ask when we would like to book our dinner as the Sat eve was booking up very fast and they wanted to give us the option to still book in rather than us arriving on the Friday and not having a choice as to what night we could have dinner, thought that was a really nice touch!
We arrived the following day and I honestly think the hotel is beautiful, the décor is oldy world charming but also modern where it needs to be.
We had a very efficient and pleasant check in experience, and when we walked into the hotel we were greeted with the fabulous smell of fresh flowers ( turns out there were lilies all over the hotel). When we got to our room we were really impressed, for a 'standard' double room it was huge! Massive bed, huge bathroom with 2 sinks and lovely views over the hotel gardens, bath robes,slippers complimentary water etc.
We had a few drinks in the bar prior to dinner which was really nice,comfy chairs around an open fire gave a really nice atmosphere.
Ate dinner in brooks and I can honestly say the food was to die for!!The food was one of the best things about this hotel and based on that it deserves a 5 star merit!
We ordered breakfast to the room the following morning which was also gorgeous, as hotel breakfasts tend to go Ballygarry can be proud! It was delivered on time and piping hot.

Also to mention on the second night of our stay, there was a huge function in the Pavilion with about 450 people and this did not impact on the hotel at all, there were plenty of staff, it was not chaotic or stressful and also you would not have known there was a function as there was no noise.

Now just for a tiny few niggles, when we arrived the room was freezing!! We turned the radiator on but nothing seemed to happen, it appears its on a timer, I called down to reception and spoke to a really lovely gentleman, he said he would sort it, when we came back that evening it was fixed, however the following day the same thing happened but the heating never came on, I didn't bother to call reception this time just used extra blankets provided. I did advise the receptionist at checkout and she apologised.
Also the curtains in out room seemed to be too short for the windows, both mornings we woke with the light streaming into the room from about 5.30am!
A point mentioned here by another traveller was that the small smoking area outside the bar had no ashtrays, this is still the case, I know it was mentioned that there was a huge heated section at the rear of the hotel but this is too far to go when you are in the bar. Lastly the service in the restaurant was very slow, It could not be put down to busyness as when we were there, there was only 4 other tables occupied, it was a bit of a pain but I can honestly say the food made up for it completely!
Over all it was a really pleasant stay,I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noteasilyimpressed96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Noteasilyimpressed,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review. I am delighted to pass these on to our staff who work very hard at maintaing the standards that you describe. I have spoken to our accommodation manager and she is advising me as to the curtains, and our bar manager as to the ashtrays as this is the second comment about the lack of them in that area, and if it is felt that the terrace to the rear is too far I will take that on board.

I do hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews