We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,438)
Filter reviews
1,438 results
Traveller rating
1,067
252
62
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
252
62
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish wolfhound stone room four poster bed fairy tale dining room the pub felt like royalty beautiful grounds manor house highlight of our trip common areas dingle peninsula wedding party drawing room next morning ring of kerry eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
1,281 - 1,286 of 1,438 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Ballyseede Castle was the most luxurious of the 3 castles we stayed at during our week in Ireland. The accommodations were outstanding and all of the public rooms are exquisitely beautiful. Arthur, the resident Irish wolfhound greets all guests along with his buddy Einstein (when they aren't busy sleeping in front of the fire!). Our room was very large with a king size bed, slipper tub and very modern bathroom. We enjoyed a delicious 5 course dinner in the elegant dining room. The castle was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bartender recommended that we do the Dingle Peninsula Drive rather than the longer Ring of Kerry drive and we were glad we took his advice. We would love to return to this beautiful castle!

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

My husband and I had our wedding reception at this wonderful hotel at the end of this summer. Despite the rain it couldn't have been a better day. We had spent months and months searching for a venue that we loved and had almost given up hope when someone we knew recommended Ballyseede Castle. Being form West Cork neither of us had heard of Ballyseede Castle but couldn't believe it when we discovered the hotel. It truly is a hidden gem of a place! There is so much to commend Ballyseede Castle. It is intrinsically fabulous in an unpretentious way. The decor is gorgeous with a lot of interesting history and thankfully, it has been well preserved. The owners Marnie and Rory have a lovely hands on style and Liza and Sandra coordinated the perfect wedding reception. The wonderful, patient, calm and courteous bar staff were also a highlight. On the day of our wedding the service was seamless, the food excellent and the feeling that we owned the place for the day was priceless! There were lovely little touches during the day that I won't mention lest I spoil the surprise for any future brides and grooms. Arthur the Irish wolfhound and his mate Einstein are also a big draw, what wonderful animals. The grounds are lovely for an after dinner stroll which many of our guests enjoyed. The donkeys are also very cute. The morning after the wedding was very relaxed. The staff were so great in helping us tidy up our bits n pieces. Sandra even brought out some tea and biscuits to some weary guests sitting on the front steps after check out, what a wonderful gesture that hasn't been forgotten by our friends. Overall, I can't fault this hotel one bit and would highly recommend it as a wedding venue. It was after all the place where I spent the best day of my life!

Date of stay: July 2009
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Katiemae11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I went to the Ballyseede castle in December and the place was magical. It looked so magical in December with all of the christmas lights on. The staff are very helpful and were happy to give us a tour of the whole castle. The grounds are very well maintained and there is a lovely cozy bar with a beautiful wooden fireplace. The entrance halll is spectacular and also has a large open fireplace usually with an Irich Wolfound alongside it called Arthur. The food is of Gourmet standard , I had a lamb shank and my girlfriend had turkey which was of Gourmet standard. There is a lovely lounge which had a nice christmas tree up and a wonderful mantlepiece. A nice place for tea and coffee or to read a book. There are lots of modern hotels around so it was a pleasure to visit such as nice castle hotel.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

A belated thank you to Ballyseede for making our wedding celebration an unforgettable, amazing experience. In fact, all of our guests (who had at least 20 of the 23 rooms available) exalted the forward-leaning, friendly and helpful staff. Three months later, every single one of our guests is still commenting on the incredible food and wine served at the reception, which they claim is one of the best wedding meals they have ever had - they loved the lamb, in particular. Ballyseede was also extremely accommodating to our requests, whether arranging for us to have a special ceremony on the staircase landing or keeping the charming bar open as late as our guests wanted to stay up (5 a.m.!). A special thank you to the staff, from the owners Marnie and Rory, to Liza, who was the wedding day coordinator, to Robert and all the others. In particular, our tremendous gratitude to Tim, the main barman, who made our guests feel especially welcome and at home. Ballyseede is also ideally located for day trips for out-of-town guests to the Ring of Kerry/Dingle, etc. The only drawback is that the rooms upstairs are a bit dated and not as comfortable/elegant/modern as the ones on the lower-level, so our guests felt they got their money's worth depending on which room they received. Regardless, we would highly recommend Ballyseede, which effortlessly combines the elegance of a small castle with the charms of a home filled with the warmth of old friends - what better way to celebrate one's wedding day?

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitz2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Castle was Ok,Beds were very hard.If you plan to stay on a Friday and Saturday night it gets a little loud due to the dining downstairs,it subsides about 1:00 a.m. Good area to stay for sightseeing,Breakfast was just Danish and cheese and cold cereal.Loved the two dogs.No Internet access unless you wanted to pay for it.I was suprised that there wasn't free wifi for the price we paid for the room.We enjoyed the morning manager she was very sweet and helpful...

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordancj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews