We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveller rating
1,059
252
61
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,059
252
61
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish wolfhound stone room four poster bed fairy tale dining room the pub felt like royalty beautiful grounds manor house course dinner highlight of our trip dingle peninsula common areas drawing room wedding party next morning ring of kerry
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

What a fabulous location! My daughter celebrated her wedding at the Castle in December 2017. As she arrived, exhausted from the photo shoot, she was whisked into the 'drawing room' where she was treated like a princess, she certainly had her 'fairy tale wedding'. Guests were wined and dined in style and the service was excellent. Must definitely return during Summer for a little rest and relaxation in one of the amazing bedrooms. Well done Ballyseedy!

Room tip: Stayed in a lovely room overlooking the gardens - visited a number of other rooms and all were very spacious
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Garfield W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We attended a wedding here before Christmas, and Ballyseede provided wonderful surroundings for the event, with superb service and very high quality food. I'd imagine anyone booking at as a wedding venue would be delighted with what they got.

We stayed at hotel for 2 nights before/after the wedding, which was ideal as we were travelling in a large family group. We stayed in the Lodge, which is a large and fairly modern building that looks much like a normal house, with 5 bedrooms, and more or less had it to ourselves (there were 10 of us), which worked very well. The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The food at dinner and breakfast was very good indeed, and although the staff were lovely, they weren't the most efficient - for example, half of our table cleared of empty plates and the rest left for 15 further minutes.

The Lodge is about 400m from the hotel, and a pleasant walk in good weather (less so when it is raining, as the hotel don't provide umbrellas for guest to use, which would have been a nice touch). However, you do have to walk along the main hotel drive, which is surprisingly busy, especially with delivery vans whose drivers seem to enjoy really putting their foot down in the stretch up to the hotel. An off-road route to the hotel, and more paths to walk around, would be a good addition, especially given how lovely the grounds are.

The lodge rooms were very overheated - it took some time to get our room to a sensible temperature, requiring windows to be left open for some time - not ideal given how bus and noisy the driveway seemed to be. There was also a damp smell that took some time to dissipate, and the decor here and in many parts of the hotel was a bit tired.

Overall, we got the feeling that main business here is weddings and that if you stayed here as a regular guest, you might find that you may not be the priority.

Room tip: I'd say go for the main hotel unless in a large group and booking all/most of the lodge.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

The starter was black pudding and salad which was simple but tasty. The blonde had a mini quiche tart with side salad this was small but had nice flavour.

We had hake and fillet steak for main course. Both were served as we requested. The garlic dauphinois were great with a flavour of stock through them and not too much cream and a crispy cheese topping.
The desert was warm apple crumble and ice cream and was a nice finish to the meal.
The staff were natural, relaxed,helpful, friendly, welcoming and of a great assistance.
Expensive but worth it
Unfortunately we forgot to take pictures

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mjl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Having spent two years planning our dream castle wedding, my new wife and I were married here on 31/12/2017.
I cannot say enough good things about the staff and management of ballyseede castle. From the beginning the owners of the venue stayed in personal contact with us and helped us in every way imaginable with the planning and organising of our big day. Typical response time to emails has been around 5 minutes, which I must say is quite impressive from such a busy venue.
The staff and management were extremely competent and professional and really helped us to be able to enjoy our time at the venue.
Our guests on the big day were absolutely blown away by the majesty and elegance of the castle and everyone has been talking about it since. Our time at Ballyseede was absolutely perfect. Were we to do it all over again I would not consider any other venue.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Enda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

A return visit to our wedding venue for a meal. Super food and service in a peaceful dining room.
There was a wedding in the main function room but other than the car park being busy you wouldn’t be aware.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lashed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews