We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,392)
Filter reviews
1,392 results
Traveller rating
1,026
248
61
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,026
248
61
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish wolfhound stone room four poster bed fairy tale dining room the pub felt like royalty grounds are beautiful manor house course dinner drawing room wedding party dingle peninsula common areas highlight of our trip next morning eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
1,170 - 1,175 of 1,392 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Loved this place: rooms furnished in lovely antiques, luxuriously roomy bathroom, charming grounds with the feel of being in the country. Wolfhound lounging around was a sweet addition for animal lovers like us. Breakfast was a treat. Staff was accomodating (bar was full, so we were served in the parlor).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intensity9421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

During our holiday through the UK, I would say the Ballyseede Castle was a highlight. Close to the Dingle Peninsula, Ring of Kerry, various castles, abbeys and stunning countryside. We would enjoy a wonderful breakfast, then head out to sigh see, trying to be back in the afternoon just to enjoy the castle and the surrounding grounds. Although, we traveled with our two teens - a family with younger children would also do well here. Especially with the two resident hounds Arthur (irish wolfhound) and Einstein (a terrior-basset & mystery mix) lounging about in and outside the castle.

Our room was spacious & quite lovely with large windows that faced a meadow & field with several resident burros and a couple of shetland ponies. The castle has a beautiful full bar and also restaurant for dinner. All our meals were well done & delicious.

Keep in mind Ballyseed Castle is well over 400 years old, but beautifully maintained. We loved the aged and historical sense to the place. We have already established that we will be back!

Room Tip: We needed an additional bed, which was not comfy. Ck first.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neutravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Ballyseede Castle was a fantastic place for our family to celebrate my grandson's 16th birthday while traveling in Ireland. The staff was accomodating and the facilities were excellent. We had three very nice rooms that have been well maintained. It is very quite and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank californiahistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I forgot to review this after our trip in December 2009. We stayed at 3 different castle hotels and this one was unfortunately our least favorite. The castle is very pretty, and it was decorated nicely for Christmas. We enjoyed the breakfasts and a dinner in the library/bar, and experienced very nice service from the hostess who greeted us the first night/showed us our room and was our server at the bar that evening. Our room was beautiful, large and clean (the French room)- no complaints there, we were very comfortable and pleased.

There were a few issues however. First, when we first arrived, there was a rehearsal going on with probably 30 middle-school aged children (dancing/singing); no one offered to help us haul our luggage around/through the big group and it started us off on the wrong foot. The owner, whom we only saw one afternoon and was rather stand-offish and not friendly. We enjoyed our first afternoon tea in our room (as we had just arrived), and they brought it up nicely and quickly. We asked for tea the second day, and they were less friendly and speedy- my husband ended up going to bring up the tray and they charged us for it! We probably should have asked if it was an extra charge to have tea in the room, but it was a little (negative) detail that we found annoying. Finally, there was a holiday party going on the 2nd night we were there, and our room was directly above the bar, so our sleep was interrupted most of the night (until 4 am). This was not necessarily the hotel's/staff's fault, and I'm not sure what they could have done about it, but it was frustrating. I did feel like they were balancing the revenue they obtained from hotel guests with all of these other events, and maybe not focusing on their primary function as a hotel (or perhaps they do not view that as their focus). Either way, I think we'd try to find somewhere else to stay in the Tralee area with a little more value for our money. It is a good location for exploring the Dingle peninsula and we thoroughly enjoyed our day visiting that area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurenpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights during a 2-week family vacation in Ireland. The kids wanted to stay at a castle, and my wife found this one. The kids liked it and overall it was a success. It's not quite as fancy as I was expecting, but it's charming and quirky and I certainly enjoyed the stay.

The grounds are beautiful and we had a nice long walk down the residential road just outside of the property. There are animals in the front yard for petting.

The rooms are a little worn, but our double room was huge and had a great view of the front yard. The pub is small and cozy, and a nice place to have a pint in the evening. We didn't have the dinner, but the breakfast was very good.

It was a good starting point for touring the Dingle peninsula the following day after checkout.

The price seemed high for the overall quality of furnishings and amenities, but we did enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: The double room facing the front has a nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews