We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great March getaway there and loved everything about it.”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I live in the States but on a holiday home to see my parents I booked all four of us in 2 Junior suites for 2 nights.
The suites are more spacious than the regular rooms and were very comfortable and looked beautiful. The room and the bathroom were spacious and immaculately clean.
The breakfast room is small and quaint and the food and service excellent. The staff were friendly and the owners willing to take the time to chat and to point out a good local place to eat. The location is right downtown so it was possible to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Only suggestion: would love to have a drinks machine on site so I wouldn't have to walk to a local store to get water bottles.
It was a perfect way to give ourselves a well deserved treat. I will be back.

Room Tip: If you can book a junior suite, do it for the extra space and comfort. Remember though, you will pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnchaCorcaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71bart, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Hello DonnachaCorcaigh

Thank you for your comments on your stay in the Fairview. We are very proud of the quality of our Junior Suites and they are a big hit with our guests. The extra space is very welcome and the underfloor heating in the Bathroom is an added luxury. We will take on board your comments regarding the bottled water.

We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Killarney.

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

994 - 998 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We made a last minute reservation at the Fairview after a long day of touring the Dingle Pennisula. Jimmy at the front desk assured us that a lovely room would be ready for us. This small boutique hotel is full of charm and complete with all the luxuries, including a Jacuzzi and a very comfortable bed. Located in the heart of Killarney, we simply parked the car and had many choices of local pubs and restaurants. The full Irish breakfast was delicious. Hope to see you again Jimmy! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask Jimmy at the front desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71bart, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Hi Katherine L,

I remember you very well and am so delighted you had such a good time with us. We always appreciate when guests take time to extol the virtues of a property and you have certainly done us proud. A big factor in the selection of a place to stay is location and the Fairview has the best location in town within an easy walk to Restaurants, Pubs and Shops.

I certainly hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Killarney Katherine,

Kind Regards
Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and children stayed in march 2012. The hotel was very nice. Very clean tastefully decorated room and pleasant staff. The hotel was quiet and very comfortable with good accommodations like free parking, free wifi. It is right downtown Killarney and easy to find with easy access to the attractions all around. Overall a great hotel for the price.

Room Tip: We chose the room with king, twin, and couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71bart, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Hi Michael M

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted your family had such a good time in Killarney. Good positive comments such as yours are always welcome. Thank you for pointing out the location of the property - this is such a deciding factor when choosing where to stay and we believe we have the best location in town. No doubt you are now back in the USA and Killarney a distant memory. However, we hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a lovely hotel with a nice boutique feel to it. The room its self was nice but i was expecting better for an executive room but the bathroom was very nice. There was a skylight in the room also which light the room up at 6 in the morning not good when you had a few pint the night before. The breakfast was lovely. I would stay here again but as for a room without a skylight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without skylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connoisseurdrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71bart, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Hi Connoisseurdrog

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Fairview. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return to stay with us again. We are sorry you didn't like the skylight but this has proved to be a novelty for a number of guests. We will make sure if you return that you have an alternative Executive Room.

regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The hotel is situated right in the town centre minutes walk from the High Street. We got a room with a jacuzzi and flat screen TV. Ann warmly welcomed us at reception. She assisted us in planning our entertainment and organised a coach tour round the Ring of Kerry which is well worth it. Our room was beautiful and clean with a king size bed and lovely bathroom. Breakfast was good but was not included in the price. The rooms were well priced. A lovely ambience and thoroughly enjoyable oplace to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
71bart, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Hi Jeannegordon

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Killarney. Ann is a very valued member of the team and we are delighted that she was able to enhance your stay in Killarney. We pride ourselves on giving a personal service to our guests and value for money. Obviously, we ticked all the boxes for you.

Thanks again

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.5 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,360 reviews
0.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,447 reviews
0.2 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
1.6 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $114 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing