We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Killarney Hotel”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Killarney Hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

While we have stayed many times in Killarney this was our first trip to The Brehon but D V will not be our last. It is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    396
    100
    29
    22
See reviews for
406
1,164
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in April and were incredibly happy with our stay.

We loved the thermal suite and spent the majority of our time in there without seeing any other guests – it was like having our own private spa! Our room was large, modern and comfortable, and the bathroom was lovely and new. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was amazing.

The only downside to our whole stay was the food in the bar. We were tired after a whole day of travelling and decided to eat dinner at the hotel rather than go into town. We ordered the fish and chips and the satay chicken. The fish was dry and overcooked, the chips were more like crumbs (obviously we got the bits from the bottom of the bag) and were also overcooked. The sauce for the satay chicken tasted like crushed peanuts in skim milk – no spices or flavour of any kind. It was a disappointing low-light in an otherwise enjoyable stay.

We were asked about our meals when we checked out, and we mentioned that we were disappointed with them, but didn’t want to speak to the manager. We thought it wasn’t worth complaining about since we were happy with everything else. I received an email from the office manager shortly after we returned home, and she was genuinely concerned and grateful for our feedback.

Overall we would most definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay in Killarney. Just don’t order food from the bar!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SSandCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Had to ride a train from Dublin to Killarney and it took more than 3 hours before you can reach The Brehon Hotel. This is a very nice one with a very clean rooms, with a Bar and a spa. Had a perfect Spa at Angsana Spa before having a whole day city tour.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Really beautiful building, very nice food in bar, I had chicken wings with blue cheese and fishermans pie, only let down was I wasnt asked i wanted coffee or dessert, which I did, but I have a little rule that if I'm not asked I dont go looking. Same with breakfast, really nice spread with tasty hot food including pancakes but no one came to me about coffee or tea. I bought coffee up the street. Anyway free wifi all over building is brilliant as is free water in rooms. Hot showers. I'll go back

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed for 1 night for an event in the INEC. Upgraded to a superior room very happy with that. excellant rooms, clean spacious.
Bar food was of great quality,
Pool clean,
An lovely hotel. Hopefully will be back,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennygrCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,161 reviews
5.2 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.5 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,146 reviews
0.8 km away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,302 reviews
1.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): $197 - $372
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing