We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
kerry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed in The Brehon 3 times over the last 4 years or so and up until my most recent stay I would have always said that The Brehon was a 4* hotel attempting to to be a 5* now my opinion was changed I think The Brehon is a 4* hotel with a 3* standard. Perhaps it is a recession thing but there is something lacking - the bedroom was lovely, comfortable, adequate towels, clean etc but it was just lacking something eg that little sowing pack you always get in a hotel or cotton buds they just weren't there a little thing like that means a lot. Breakfast was nice but nothing special orange juice was average the bacon was over cooked and the sausages were very average. Service was fine but lacked that personal touch. So I'm afraid to say that that The Brehon is not as good as it used to be!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room out the front at least you will have a few of the lovely mountains of Killarney
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snow74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    356
    86
    25
    17
See reviews for
345
1,028
30
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great hotel, would recommend it, staff were really lovely and friendly, great Irish welcome. Rooms were lovely and roomy, clean and beds were really comfy. Only recommendation would be to open pool until 9pm instead of 7pm and change coffee suppliers in restaurant. Coffee in rooms was lovely but filtered was not nice. Well done on a lovely hotel, staff were really lovely, great to see traditional Irish hospitality is still alive and well in the Brehon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Had a lovely 1 night stay with hubby. I cant recommend highly enough extremely clean and fantastic room we were upgraded even though we were on an offer rate which was a great bargain. The suite we were given 401 was lovely counldnt fault it for hygiene and I am a bit picky cant help but notice small faults. breakfast lovely, swimming pool /spa are gorgeous. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My wife and I are just back from a fabulous 3 nights in the Brehon. Even though the hotel was very busy, there was no diminution of the high standards that we have come to expect from this super hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the restaurant was superb.
All in all, a fabulous 3 days. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be slightly quieter but rooms in front have a slightly better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryHCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I and my husband visited the brehon hotel last week for a relaxing break. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spacious and the staff is really friendly and professional. We had treatments in the spa which were pure bliss. The restaurant was a nice experience too. The manager Andras really made sure we had a memorable experience. The only but is that we requested, at the time of the booking and the check in, a quiet room and we were not only given a room next to a family with small children but the housekeeper started vacuuming the corridor at 8.30!!! So we ended up checking out at 10.00.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allegria74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.9 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
5.2 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
2.6 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
1.4 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): $143 - $288
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing