We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heights Hotel Killarney

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Heights Hotel Killarney
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dirty hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

My mate and my self stayed here for a week end, and i would never stay there again
i went into the shower only to find the shower walls rotten with the dirt All so the floor had excrement on it we of cause complained the manager said he would look after us in the bar
which he did he gave us 3 drinks apiece, he asked us to fill in a complaint form and the hotel would get back to us, after waiting for 4 days i phoned only to be told she is on the phone phoned back to be told she as just popped out phoned again to be to she as now gone on maternity leave. So then i get another lady who goes on about the room being cleaned and inspected by the boss and it was perfect and we are to blame never again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank an_ghlaise20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen O, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear an_ghlaise20
Thank you for your recent review.
Here at the Heights Hotel we take our cleaning policy very seriously and ensure that high standards of service and cleanliness are maintained at all times. I am both personally hurt and disappointed by your recent comments and feel on this occasion they are unjust and untrue. On reading your comment you fail to mention a few things:
You arrived to our hotel on Friday and made no comments regarding your room upon check-in to the room nor did you have any issues on Friday night. At lunchtime on Saturday housekeeping staff were refused entry to service your room and you or your friend told them that their services were not required. Again, at this time, you never aired any grievances regarding the condition of your room. It was not until late Saturday evening that you make a complaint to hotel management that there was excrement on your bathroom floor, however upon arrival to the room management could not confirm or deny this as you had it cleaned up at that stage. The manager on duty that night, however, did give you and your friend three complimentary drinks each as a good will gesture.
As I previously mentioned to you, Housekeeping serviced this room on Friday morning and a manager signed off on their work at lunchtime on Friday and at that time we, the Hotel, can confirm that there was absolutely no evidence of excrement or dirt in the bathroom.
I find it ironic reading your comment that you mention you would never stay with us again while on two separate occasions you told me that a free weekend would be in order, and also upon check out to the receptionist and in your comment card to the hotel you mentioned that you thought a complimentary weekend would be enough to prevent you from “going to Trip Advisor”. Upon the decline of your request you then tell me “you’re going to Tripadvisor”.
May I also add that in your comment card you ticked “excellent” for all aspects of service, food and overall enjoyment of your stay with us and so I do hope that other Tripadvisor users will read this review and be able to make an intelligent judgement call if deciding to stay with us in the future.
Best Regards
Noreen O Leary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    108
    51
    19
    18
See reviews for
75
134
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights a couple of weeks ago and found the Hotel to be nicely located, clean and with friendly staff. The food was very good also. The main issue was with the mattress in the room - it was completly gone on both beds. We asked to move rooms but they only had one left unoccupied - in which the mattress was also terrible. We put a duvet underneath us on the bed instead which helped. The staff were not surprised we complained about the mattress either so it was not the first time. A shame as it was a nice stay otherwise

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heights H, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I and our 19month old son were here yesterday evening and had some delicious bar food. Our waitress was a lovely friendly girl and we were served promptly. We had soup to start which was very nice. My husband had a steak sandwich which was really good and I had the penne pasta with bacon, mushrooms and cream sauce. It was delicious. The great thing was that there was no problem with when I ordered a childs portion of the penne pasta also. Babs loved it and ate every last bit of it. We had a delicious dessert of Choc Fudge cake afters. The price was incredibly reasonable, 2 soups, 2 main courses, one childs portion of an adult meal, 2 desserts, two soft drinks and 2 top ups of milk in babs cup was Eur57. Excellent food, excellent service, lovely setting and excellent price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissieMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heights H, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here for 1 night for a family gathering. Staff were more than helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The meal at night was scrumptious as was the bar food. They were also very accommodating with children. Will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to others. The location is great close enough to centre. The only thing that could do with an upgrade is the carpets in the rooms and the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjpireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heights H, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed for two nights, a sun day Monday. Had breakfast and dinner in hotel on oth days. The breakfast buffet had everything would you want and need, fresh and tasty. The staff were very friendly. Dinner was fabulous, ate in the mill restuarant where I had chicken ceaser to start, and another chicken dish for mains, my boyfriend had steak and soup. The second night we both got steak, and pavola dessert, both gorgeous. The waitress, a polish woman was very friendly and attentive to us and on the second night the manager quickly popped over to c if everything was ok during our stay, which is was. The rooms are quite basic but have everything u need, the are good value, and clean. It's a small bit out of town but was not a major issue. Will def return and recommend to friends. Well done!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaoisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heights H, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.2 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#24 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.0 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
12.1 km away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.2 km away
Torc Hotel
Torc Hotel
#37 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel Killarney

Property: The Heights Hotel Killarney
Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price range (per night): $71 - $219
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Heights Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Heights Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing