We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Ranked #72 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This hotel is a fantastic location if you want to explore Killarney town and the surrounding tourist attractions. The service was good with friendly and helpful staff and the food, except for the scrambled eggs, can be recommended. There is a large lounge from which you can get free wifi or you can use the hotel computer. There is ample free parking and all facilities are close by. I would certainly recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoeLoveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    36
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
22
24
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CORK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Myself and my husband stayed in the castle lodge and we got verbally abused by the night porter who was shouting at us when we arrived back from a concert. He was saying that I should ask my 'visitor' to leave the room as there is no guests allowed. Even though he checked us in a few hours before that. Tried explaning it to him but he was screaming at my husband to leave. Never in our life had we come across anything so bad. The room was very small, the bathroom very dated, but we didnt mind as we were only staying for 1 night. But what happened to us was a disgrace.
Tried complaining the next morning, but was only given a 'sorry' and handed the bill.
Didnt have Bfast as was so upset the next morning, just wanted to get out of there as quick as possible. I advise anyone to stay clear of the Castle Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CorkEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

derry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2009

My family and I stay at the Castle Lodge each year for a short break . We are always met with a friendly smile from all the staff at the guesthouse .Its located just minutes from town center and not forgetting next door to one of the beatiful national parks in killarney.
Rooms are very spacious and relaxing with a hearty full irish breakfast to follow in the morning .
I would recommend castle lodge to everyone its well worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I have stayed in Killarney many times and every time we enjoyed it a lot! The town is great for nightlife and during the day you can take a trip to Muckross House and the National Park. This trip was a weekend away with the girls, we didn't expect much from a guesthouse but we did expect to have comfortable and clean room with pleasant staff.....however, this was not provided.

The bathroom was not adequate- it smelt of urine as cleaning agent was not used on the toilet, the shower's temperature varied from freezing cold to scorching without turning the knob. The bathroom floor was soaked after the shower, as the shower curtain was not big enough....extremely dangerous with kids. The toilet was positioned too close to the sink and it was a tight squeeze to say the least. Also, not enough towels where provided for all persons in the room - we were given two bath towels in a family room! (Not practical for this room type - after all Family Rooms are meant to be their speciality!!)

The TV was dated with only four channels, the whole guesthouse was generally outdated. I personally couldn't see any evidence of any new refurbishment in the guesthouse. The dining room was open until 9:45, not ideal for late nights and especially when the dining room was not big enough to accommodate all guests in one setting. Check-In and Check-Out was very unpleasant with staff being extremely rude and uncooperative. I have never witness customer service being so terrible!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripLover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We knew we needed somewhere to stay for the night in Killarney but had made no prior bookings. We only drove in on a whim as we were waiting at the traffic lights when we spotted it and it seemed as good a place as any.

It looks huge from the outside for a B&B and felt just as large inside - it's size probably makes it a good choice in busy seasons. We had two rooms on the upper floor facing the rear. And you would never have guessed how close to the road this place was as I didn't hear a thing all night long.

There were plenty of tea and coffee facilities in the rooms - a huge carpark, and a short walk into the town centre - so all in all the location was great.

Beds were comfortable and tv's in each of the rooms.

The best thing was the breakfast. It was truly a huge spread and beautifully cooked. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EgyptianGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 km away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#32 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 km away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 km away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#96 of 139 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#40 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 km away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#6 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.5 km away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#33 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlelodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlelodge Guesthouse

Property: Castlelodge Guesthouse
Address: Castle Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price range (per night): $117 - $181
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlelodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Otel, Odigeo, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castlelodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing