We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good oysters, disappointing salad”
Review of Failte Hotel

Failte Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Failte Hotel
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good oysters, disappointing salad”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We ordered a dozen oysters which were good (tasty but not briny) but the rest of the menu was somewhat uninspiring. Finally, my husband ordered lasagna which was tasty and I settled on a salad - greens, feta cheese and walnuts - sounded good, but it had very little flavour and left me disappointed.

The bartending staff were very accommodating in serving us good hot tea with refills when we asked.

There was a young man playing music at the front of the pub. He had a great voice and we enjoyed his entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    30
    12
    13
    16
See reviews for
20
29
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough MA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had dinner here May 9th, 2012 in the restaurant and ate at the Pub on May 10th. Both were above average dining experiences. We ordered a wonderful appetizer of brie and cherry chutney ( I believe). The Roast Pork dinner was my dinner choice/ The pork medallions were cooked to perfection and the Dijon sauce was delicious. My companion order the Roast Rack of Kerry Lamb and was very happy with it.
In the Pub I ordered a garlic chicken sandwich. Once again I was surprised at how well seasoned it was. Just delicious!.
The staff at both the restaurant and the pub were great. They are attentive and warm. You know they are concerned with your dining experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stopped here for supper and were more than delighted. The proprietress Eileen was charming and gracious. The menu was limited, but the meal was delightful. I had a rack of lamb and was delighted. The Guinness was good also. We went back the next evening for the pub and had a great time. It is worth a stop when you are in Killarney.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWAJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

this hotel was the worse hotel i've stayed in killarney, it was like stepping back in time ,the carpets were so dirty,the rooms were cold we were told the heating does not come on till 5 in the evening ,it was so cold i could not have a shower.the smell of stale smoke was very bad the decor was so old it must not have been painted in years, don't believe the pictures on site as we never stayed in rooms like this. we had to pay up front for our room before we got the keys big mistake!! when i saw the stairs we had to climb before we got to our rooms no lifts .... just a very rundown staircase. the bedrooms are over the pub which is very noisey at night , bring ear plugs as the so called hotel is across from a night club .it has no on site parking you have to use a public carpark. overall i was not happy here please think before you stay at this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paudie O, Owner at Failte Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We would like to thank you for your review and we would like to inform you that we have taken what you have said and tried to deal with your issues. Firstly the pictures at the moment of our rooms on tripadvisor are not our pictures and we have reported this to tripadvisor. we have totally repainted and carpeted our stairwells and halls this week after seeing your review. We have also made extensive improvements in our rooms. The location of the hotel is a very possitive one for us as we are beside a large public carpark in the center of bustling Killarney. Sorry if your stay was not to your satisfaction but we will endevour to improve for the future. We are a small family owned and run hotel.Thanking you, Paudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had dinner here one night and it was lovely. Well worth a visit. The restaurant has beautiful decor and we had a lovely table by window.. beautiful with candles and lights. Relaxing. I had lasagne and it was yummy and the goats cheese it also highly recommended. Chips were hot and tasty and the waitress was lovely and helpful

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 km away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#13 of 38 in Killarney
227 reviews
0.1 km away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
967 reviews
0.3 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,478 reviews
0.4 km away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
289 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Failte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Failte Hotel

Property: Failte Hotel
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price range (per night): $143 - $230
Hotel Class:2 star — Failte Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Failte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing