We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Fishguard
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Thankyou”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

A special thanks Martin and Ann and the team at Gleneagle Hotel for looking after us so well, wev'e been staying at this hotel for the last 8 years.with S & J Promotions.and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else,every where is spotless, the food good and the entertainment is brilliant.

This year my husband had a slight accident when we were out in the day went back to the hotel ,they were so kind organized a DR and Taxi and gave us tea and biscuites while we waited.and also gave Bernard crutches.so he wouldn't do more damage to his leg.what else can you ask for.Simply Brilliant.

Room Tip: we were in room 505 a beautiful view of the mountains and the Kerry cattle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilwenmcallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guests,

I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay during the UK Country Music Festival it was a huge success and a fantastic week celebrating the 20th year coming to the Gleneagle with Jayne & Shaun Michael Productions.

It was very unfortunate that your husband had to go to the Doctor this year but thankfully he was ok and got to stay and enjoy the Gala Dinner Night in the Ballroom which was fantastic…

I hope you are both keeping well since your return home and that your husband is doing well.

On behalf of all the team here we are very grateful to you for taking the time to post your review and feedback on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again next year for the 21st year of the UK Country Music Festival.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    362
    168
    126
    123
See reviews for
429
400
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in the Gleneagle Apartments recently and were most disappointed with our time there.

The apartment was very basic and in badly need of refurbishment and a good cleaning. The duvet covers were stained and also had cigarette burns. Also, the ‘Rent-to-kill’ boxes in the bedrooms didn’t help our experience there! The apartments are definitely not the 4 star as mentioned on the website and the photos are very misleading.

Overall the main Gleneagle restaurant was extremely poor. We booked into the restaurant on the last night of our stay thinking that it would finish our holiday on a good note, but it was very disappointing. Firstly as our Irish waitress passed by our table our menus were thrown at us and the meal itself was just a basic carvery dinner, the veg were tasteless and covered in margarine. Our waitress never asked us if our meal was ok or if there was anything else we needed. The restaurant was very busy at the time, but in a place like the Gleneagle they should be used to tours and dealing with a busy restaurant. It seemed like the chef is told just to serve up anything to the customers as they will fill the restaurant anyway.

We went to OD’s bar restaurant on one of the nights and were told that there was no need to book a table, however we got there around 7pm and had to wait until after 8:30pm for a table. The menu was actually the same as the main restaurant and same poor quality. After the meal we went down to the Backstage Bar which surprisingly closed at 10pm!! We were told to go to The Green Room – which turned out to be an over bright room which was freezing cold with zero atmosphere, so we just left. There was no entertainment in the bars on any of the nights.

The only positive from the stay was the bar in the Brehon Hotel which had a lovely atmosphere, entertainment, good menu and very attentive and courteous staff – everything in complete opposite to the Gleneagle.

It seems to me that the Gleneagle is only interested in large group tours as that is where they make their money. The €20 for three course meal sounded like good value but when you see the poor quality of the meal you realise that they are just aiming for making max profit for churning out terrible meals.

Definately will never return and will not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Holiday397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I read the very mixed reviews on Trip Advisor and was a bit concerned that the Hotel might not be Ok. However I was reassured by a friend who knew the hotel and said it was very good - it was. The lounges bars and reception areas are bright clean and very comfortable. the bedrooms are spotless - they are cleaned every day with fresh towels provided The bathrooms are large- ours had a shower over bath and again it was cleaned thoroughly every day. The staff were generally very helpful though one of the male receptionists was abrupt and could do with a bit of training.The food was really fantastic - great menu high quality food cooked to perfection.
The hotel is always buzzing yet peaceful at night time. The entertainment is well away from the bedrooms so noise is not an issue.There is also a beautiful swimming pool which is open nearly all day
Rates are very reasonable for the quality provided Would recommend this hotel - clean comfortable lovel;y pool good food good value - what more could you want.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor rooms as they are directly under the hotels ventilation system and are VERY noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy_mccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you to you for such a wonderful report on your recent visit. We our indeed very proud of our staff and the service in which everyone delivers and of the fantastic atmosphere that makes the Gleneagle what it is.

We look forward to continuing to please and be the best we can for many years to come. Thank you again for your review, it is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had previously phoned up re walk in showers or 3 disable rooms and told we could have them for a party of 6. When we checked in we found that there was no disable rooms available and that there is only 4 disabled rooms in the Hotel when we complained. One of our party had developed severe back problems and could not shower for the entire 4 nights that we had stayed there. I think a hotel of that size should have more disabled rooms and car park spaces( 2 in question) I found the rooms to be spacious but like the Hotel was tired looking and required refurbished with the amount of tours/concerts and other guests that go through it. The food and the staff would speak for itself as excellent and a good variety each night. Our thanks goes to Breda who oversaw ours meals. I would like to thank her for the efficient manner in which she deliver her service to us

Room Tip: If you need a disabled room make sure you get it in writing with the amount of elderly on bus tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guests,

I am fully aware of this situation as it was myself that your group spoke with upon arrival. As I explained at the time on arrival, when a request is made we do our best to try and meet all requests however it is not always guaranteed as when the hotel is fully booked we could have 200 people or more all requesting the same thing (i.e. ground floor rooms, walk in showers, balcony rooms etc).

As I recall on the day and having spoken to the wife of the gentleman with the bad back that was looking for the walk in shower room, I did explain all this and did everything I could to try and rectify their problem. I tried our sister hotel the Brehon to see if they had a room but unfortunately they too were fully booked, I also offered a Disable friendly 2 bedroom Apartment that would have been available the next morning to the couple but this was declined.

In relation to the disabled car spaces we have 9 disabled car spaces in total, 2 are to the front of Reception, and more around the back car park next to lift B and located next to the Disable friendly rooms and also in the other small car park next to the INEC & Backstage Bar.

I am sorry that the hotel was unable to meet your request on this occasion however as I explained in the conversation at Reception on that evening should you ever decide to return in the future please contact the hotel directly and we will can try to accommodate your group better next time.

Many thanks for the positive comments in relation to the Dining Room and for the comments on the food and praise for Breda, she is indeed a real little star and has great personality.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

At the reception desk, we met a tall gentlman (wore glasses). He was extremely friendly. We got a great rate for 3 adults and one baby. We availed of the 4 course meal for €20. My main course was a little cold. Dinner was fine..but lacked a little flavour. Room was lovely. Clean and spacious. Lobby downstairs is beautiful..but upstairs corridor to our room could do with a little refurbishing. Pool is amazing. Love the background music in the pool and hotel!! But the real selling point for this Hotel..are the really friendly staff. Really brilliant. A Credit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks to you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Gleneagle, and for highlighting both your positive & negative experiences. I am aware of the Receptionist that assisted you and he is delighted that he was able to accommodate you and that you mentioned him in your review.

I apologise for the fact that you found the main course a little cold and lacking in flavor, this I have highlighted to the Head Chef and I can assure you will be shared with his team of Chefs.

We have long term plans for refurbishment in Guest corridors & bedrooms and are about to commence with our 2nd phase in these plans in early November.

We are aware and very proud of the amazing team of staff we have here at the Gleneagle and get so much positive feedback on a daily basis from many customers, thank you for highlighting this also, it is always nice for staff to hear that their customers left with a positive experience. I will share this with all the team who will be most appreciative.

Many Thanks

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,202 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
570 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
718 reviews
0.4 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#24 of 38 in Killarney
1,258 reviews
1.7 km away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price range (per night): $164 - $295
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing