We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gleneagle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 355*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dromhall Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
USD 216*
USD 208*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 430*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 174*
USD 155*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 239*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Fairview(Killarney)(Great Value!)
USD 201*
USD 184*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
USD 255*
USD 246*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
USD 233*
USD 226*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
USD 196*
USD 149*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 428*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveller rating
629
414
191
140
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
414
191
140
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen roomflesk restaurantbackstage barulster buscaptain jackglen eaglekids clubleisure centreentertainment every nightbalcony roompitch and puttshuttle busswimming poolbusy hotelbig hotelfamily roombit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,181 - 1,186 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and fully enjoyed it. We expected that, given the price it, would not be the usual 5 * hotel that we stay in but decided to give it a go due to it's child friendly reputation and we were not dissappointed. The room was comfortable but basic (very clean). The hotel caters for all ages and my two nine year old boys fully enjoyed the Teen Zone each evening - leaving time for us to enjoy a relaxing drink in the bar. The breakfast is good but due to the fact that we were staying slightly off season the evening eating options were limited but there is a srumptous Chinese next store and several options in Killarney town itself. I was especially impressed when having decided to stay an extra couple of nights the hotel offered to have my laundry delivered into the town, service washed and delivered back to me that evening (all for the standard chrage of a service wash). All in all I fully recommend the Gleneagle as a great place to go with kids. If you are expecting plush then please don't but you will also be pleased when checking out that you are not presented with a 'plush' bill. We will return - off season - as we enjoyed the relative quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMOD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

I would personally like to say a very big thank you to this trip Advisor member for such a wonderful report on their recent visit. We our very proud of our staff and the service in which everyone delivers and of the fantastic atmosphere that makes the Gleneagle what it is.

We are a 3 Star Hotel yet some people expect the standards of a 5 star hotel for the same price. Our rates and packages offer fantastic value for money, with nightly entertainment, Leisure Centre & Kids Clubs & Teen Zone (during holiday periods).

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time write this review.
Many Thanks
Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our experience was ok. The website would suggest the hotel is more modern than it is. It appears quite dated - though there appears to be plans to update it at the moment. The pool was attractive with a baby. There was a baby pantry , which was great, where you could store your babyfood/milk etc. but despite asking for it when we booked and arrived, we were located in another wing of the hotel so had a 10 min round trip for each bottle, etc. The options for eating were very limited so we ended up going into the town for all meals. So it was an ok stay but don't think we'd like to we'll return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We are sorry for failing to reach this Trip Advisor Member’s expectations during their recent visit.

The Gleneagle is an older hotel however we are constantly striving to refurbish and improve our product. Many of our bedrooms and the main Lobby of the Hotel have in fact been refurbished and this is an ongoing project that we are striving to complete.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with everything they need under one roof from Entertainment every night , Leisure facilities to Kids Club programs along with Tennis Courts, a Pitch n Putt course and Squash courts and Teen Zone ( during Holiday periods for the older children).

I wish to apologise for the fact your room was unable to be allocated nearer the Baby Facility Room on the 2nd Floor on this occasion, should you ever decide to give us a second chance in the future please contact me directly and I will endeavour to ensure that the Gleneagle Team offers you a stay that is entirely memorable for all the right reasons and I will personally ensure that your room requirements are met.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed in killarney many times but this was our first time staying in the Gleneagle Hotel. We stayed for 2 night and had a fantasic time. Good facilities for children to keep them occuppied etc. Only major complaint I would have is lack of high chairs and the time you have to wait for one especially had with a screaming 20 month old. Waited 10-15 mins in restaurant for one and again every morning 10-15mins waiting for one at breakfast, seems there is a lack of high chairs apart from that our stay was very enjoyable and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: www.booking.com for best deal
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amym87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your positive review on your recent visit to the Gleneagle, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your 2 night break and the Children got to make use of the Kids Club we’ve had running for the Easter Holidays.

I apologise for the small delays at breakfast, this is due to the fact that unfortunately everybody all arrives at same time for Breakfast and the Restaurant cannot seat the whole Hotel at same time. The delays were minimal as Staff get the tables turned around as quickly as possible.

This Easter we are delighted to have been fully booked and had on average approximately 200 children between the apartments and Hotel. I have shared your comments with the relevant Departmental Managers in relation to the High Chairs, it is possible that we may need to purchase more.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon again and if I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

cant praise dis hotel enough have stayed there numerous times over d last few yrs in both d apartments and d hotel both have always been spotlessly clean and comfortable...we have a little boy wit special needs and d staff were more den helpful with anything we needed to make him and us more comfortable d pool area is fabulous and again spotless....we have only just got bk from a break there and we got there way before check in time and asked at reception would it b ok if we used d pool as had such a long journey down our little man was dying to get out of d car dey were more den happy to let us use d pool have also stayed just wit d hubby for concerts and always found d hospitality d same we will definatly b returning to d gleneagle every yr for a break.....

Room Tip: hotel and apartments are all great
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitrionafogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guests,

It is such a pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted that your family had a great holiday and experienced what the Gleneagle is truly is and that you have witnessed this on numerous occasions...

We are very grateful and many Thanks for taking the time to write your positive feedback. We certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future and that you continue to enjoy your holidays with us.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Over a period of a week we spoke to gleneagles staff on 3 separate occcassions & they quoted the same rate. After we booked with them they phoned back and said that they had mis-quoted us & they nearly doubled the rate. After discussion they offered to split the difference! Obviously this was completely unacceptable to us so we did not accept their offer. We are very disappointed with their attitude & their breaking of our agreement.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yummumof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Obviously there was clearly a misunderstanding somewhere along the line in this situation and not something that happens on a regular occurrence here as our Call Center team are used to taking hundreds of bookings on a daily basis and are very well informed of the product & services they are selling.

I can only apologise for any misunderstanding, this is an issue that I would have liked to have had the opportunity to look into but without further details supplied it is difficult for us to trace or follow up on.

Should you like to contact the Hotel directly with all the details please feel free and a Duty Manager will gladly look into it further and speak to you directly with any follow up.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews