We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great activities for kids”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin
1 review
“Great activities for kids”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Two very active boys(10 and 11) were busy and happy for four days. During the day they swam, played football, pool, tennis and golf. One evening they went to a Jedward concert and other evenings they went to teen zone(8 years+) where Dieter and Mark entertained them with quizes, Playstation etc. One of the highlights for the boys was an inflatable slide which appears occasionally in the swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula_Beatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive recent review, I have shared this with all the team and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to do so.

We are delighted your two boys had such an amazing time and hope they enjoyed the Jedward Concert…. Always a great hit with the kiddies…

Many Thanks from Myself & all the team here at the Gleneagle Hotel.

Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    346
    164
    123
    121
See reviews for
404
385
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and fully enjoyed it. We expected that, given the price it, would not be the usual 5 * hotel that we stay in but decided to give it a go due to it's child friendly reputation and we were not dissappointed. The room was comfortable but basic (very clean). The hotel caters for all ages and my two nine year old boys fully enjoyed the Teen Zone each evening - leaving time for us to enjoy a relaxing drink in the bar. The breakfast is good but due to the fact that we were staying slightly off season the evening eating options were limited but there is a srumptous Chinese next store and several options in Killarney town itself. I was especially impressed when having decided to stay an extra couple of nights the hotel offered to have my laundry delivered into the town, service washed and delivered back to me that evening (all for the standard chrage of a service wash). All in all I fully recommend the Gleneagle as a great place to go with kids. If you are expecting plush then please don't but you will also be pleased when checking out that you are not presented with a 'plush' bill. We will return - off season - as we enjoyed the relative quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMOD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
I would personally like to say a very big thank you to this trip Advisor member for such a wonderful report on their recent visit. We our very proud of our staff and the service in which everyone delivers and of the fantastic atmosphere that makes the Gleneagle what it is.

We are a 3 Star Hotel yet some people expect the standards of a 5 star hotel for the same price. Our rates and packages offer fantastic value for money, with nightly entertainment, Leisure Centre & Kids Clubs & Teen Zone (during holiday periods).

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time write this review.
Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our experience was ok. The website would suggest the hotel is more modern than it is. It appears quite dated - though there appears to be plans to update it at the moment. The pool was attractive with a baby. There was a baby pantry , which was great, where you could store your babyfood/milk etc. but despite asking for it when we booked and arrived, we were located in another wing of the hotel so had a 10 min round trip for each bottle, etc. The options for eating were very limited so we ended up going into the town for all meals. So it was an ok stay but don't think we'd like to we'll return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We are sorry for failing to reach this Trip Advisor Member’s expectations during their recent visit.

The Gleneagle is an older hotel however we are constantly striving to refurbish and improve our product. Many of our bedrooms and the main Lobby of the Hotel have in fact been refurbished and this is an ongoing project that we are striving to complete.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with everything they need under one roof from Entertainment every night , Leisure facilities to Kids Club programs along with Tennis Courts, a Pitch n Putt course and Squash courts and Teen Zone ( during Holiday periods for the older children).

I wish to apologise for the fact your room was unable to be allocated nearer the Baby Facility Room on the 2nd Floor on this occasion, should you ever decide to give us a second chance in the future please contact me directly and I will endeavour to ensure that the Gleneagle Team offers you a stay that is entirely memorable for all the right reasons and I will personally ensure that your room requirements are met.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed in killarney many times but this was our first time staying in the Gleneagle Hotel. We stayed for 2 night and had a fantasic time. Good facilities for children to keep them occuppied etc. Only major complaint I would have is lack of high chairs and the time you have to wait for one especially had with a screaming 20 month old. Waited 10-15 mins in restaurant for one and again every morning 10-15mins waiting for one at breakfast, seems there is a lack of high chairs apart from that our stay was very enjoyable and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: www.booking.com for best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amym87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your positive review on your recent visit to the Gleneagle, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your 2 night break and the Children got to make use of the Kids Club we’ve had running for the Easter Holidays.

I apologise for the small delays at breakfast, this is due to the fact that unfortunately everybody all arrives at same time for Breakfast and the Restaurant cannot seat the whole Hotel at same time. The delays were minimal as Staff get the tables turned around as quickly as possible.

This Easter we are delighted to have been fully booked and had on average approximately 200 children between the apartments and Hotel. I have shared your comments with the relevant Departmental Managers in relation to the High Chairs, it is possible that we may need to purchase more.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon again and if I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

cant praise dis hotel enough have stayed there numerous times over d last few yrs in both d apartments and d hotel both have always been spotlessly clean and comfortable...we have a little boy wit special needs and d staff were more den helpful with anything we needed to make him and us more comfortable d pool area is fabulous and again spotless....we have only just got bk from a break there and we got there way before check in time and asked at reception would it b ok if we used d pool as had such a long journey down our little man was dying to get out of d car dey were more den happy to let us use d pool have also stayed just wit d hubby for concerts and always found d hospitality d same we will definatly b returning to d gleneagle every yr for a break.....

Room Tip: hotel and apartments are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitrionafogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guests,

It is such a pleasure to read your review on Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted that your family had a great holiday and experienced what the Gleneagle is truly is and that you have witnessed this on numerous occasions...

We are very grateful and many Thanks for taking the time to write your positive feedback. We certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future and that you continue to enjoy your holidays with us.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.4 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.0 km away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.8 km away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price range (per night): $158 - $283
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing