We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality venue”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quality venue”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed in the river apartments with four friends for the Poker festival in Late September .
The rooms were very clean and comfortable . The fridge was stocked with milk and other essentials like homemade brown bread which was a nice add on we did not expect.
We had full use of the hotel which had a nice pool and spa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamienMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Special thanks to this trip advisor member for your lovely comments on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    368
    171
    126
    124
See reviews for
445
403
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and I enjoyed an ulsterbus trip to this hotel for a country and Western trip. We had a great time, brilliant value for money. The room was spotless, the food was excellent and the staff, especially bedroom, bar and dining room could not have been better. We found the staff in reception a bit remote but really helpful when approached. Two things we would just mention, the communal areas were quite cold and also we would have loved to see the open fires kept well lit with, perhaps, a big log. The leisure centre swimming pool was also a real treat, a spin dryer would have been a welcome extra even if coin operated. Pity the jacuzzi was out of action. We had a great time and we would definitely return in the future

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guests

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our team here at the Gleneagle for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and with the Ulsterbus Tours for the Country Music Festival and I’m sure you are aware of the thousands of people that visit us throughout the year with the Ulsterbus tours we run from Belfast & Derry.

I have got to know so many customers that travel regularly with the Ulsterbus tours and love to see all the familiar faces returning, it’s like seeing Friends return…

Sometimes we can have up to 7 Coaches here with Ulsterbus especially for the Christmas Craicer breaks that run from November to December. They are always a big hit and we have a Gala Dinner on one night that always is a huge success.

It is unfortunate that the Jacuzzi was out of order during your stay, we were waiting for a new part that make the Bubbles work to arrive, I am glad to say it’s back in action now, so hopefully is you decide to return you will get to use it next time and make the most of it. If you do, be sure and make yourself known to me, I like to put faces to people and once again sincere thanks for taking the time to make your review on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here on 5th and 6th of March 2012. Although it is an old hotel, the rooms and corridors had been newly refurbished, the hotel in its entirety was spotless and service was faultless. We stayed in a Suite on the 5th Floor which was very comfortable with beautiful views. We had our 2 year old son with us and the staff were all very accommodating. The hotel is only 5-10 mins drive from killarney town and about an hour from Dingle. We had breakfasts and one dinner in the hotel itself and the food was lovely and served without any delay. The one thing I would suggest would be that the beds should have Duvets rather than Throws as it got cold during the night but other than that I honestly couldnt find any fault at all in the hotel or staff and will definitely be staying here for many years to come and will recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with a young family and looking for a family orientated place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coneill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guests,

It is such a pleasure to read such balanced and honest opinions voiced on Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted that your family had a great holiday and experienced what the Gleneagle is all about….

I would like to complement you on putting their your opinion across in such a fair and rational manner. I am delighted you highlighted the Food & Service in the Restaurant and that you enjoyed your meals.

We are very grateful and many Thanks for taking the time to write your positive feedback. We certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future and that you continue to enjoy your holidays with us.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

stayed here on 6th and7th of march,in bad need of refit,musty ,lacking of freshness,food poor,expensive,all over shabby,just old.Food looked like it was made up for days,salads not fresh,breakfast all tined fruit no fresh fruit,fry up fairly basic,overall not good,would not stay there again.Looked at other Hotels and overall far better in every way,hotel needs total revamp.

Room Tip: look for newly fitout rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The rooms were awful. They were old and dull and rather disgusting. The bathroom consisted of a toilet and a shower and a sink, nothing at all nice about it. Then there was the rest, the hotel in general was nice, although its a bit of a maze. The breakfast was awful. The dining room was old and cramped, the food was just thrown out, oh and the food was greasy and horrible too. Overall it has the potential to be a nice place, but the old fashioned decor of the hotel in general brings it down. Oh I almost forgot, the heater was broken in our room so we were very cold all night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
On behalf of the hotel I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the fact that this customer had such negative feedback on your recent stay with us and that you found the Hotel to be so disappointing.

I am aware that we are not to everybody’s satisfaction, we are a 3 star Hotel however we are constantly striving to improve and have already commenced with our long term plans for redecoration and refurbishments in corridors and bedrooms.

I am however surprised at comments about the food. We always get very positive feedback about our food. Clearly is was not to this customers satisfaction on this occasion and it’s a shame they did not highlight their issues to us while they were staying as we would have done our best to ensure they left with a more positive experience.
Should these customers ever have the occasion to visit Killarney in the future and wish to return to our Hotel, I would gladly ensure they have a better stay next time and are thouroughly satisfied.

With Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
576 reviews
1.7 km away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
494 reviews
3.3 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
1.7 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price range (per night): $155 - $287
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing