We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully appointed”
Review of Abbey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey Lodge
Ranked #30 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I was very impressed with the bedroom amenities that Abbey Lodge had to offer. The best of any B&B during my 2 week Ireland travels with my husband--down to the little things that I forgot to pack (like a shower cap) We stayed briefly overnight and for breakfast before checking out for our next Ireland destination. I would've been happy to stay longer because Abbey Lodge is very tastefully decorated in addition to the attention to room amenities. The Lodge is located on a very busy road but it is an easy walk to the center of Killarney. Although I am partial to an Irish greeting upon arrival, the Irish owner spent time speaking with us at breakfast and went out of his way to help with making phone calls--even offering his own cell phone when I couldn't use my calling card. All was of excellent quality at Abbey Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GadgetGirlCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

I was prepared to hate this place upon arriving and discovering that the wifi doesn't really work on Apple products and the phones were out, but the owner and manager, John, was so polite and helpful that any criticism has utterly died in my throat. He actually called up a friend of his to see if we could get the wifi working on my iPad. It didn't, but really, it was fine, even though I was relying on telecommunications to make our plans as we went along. There's a perfectly good
computer in the lobby. The rooms are lovely, recently renovated, and the hotel couldn't be in a better location: just far enough away from town to be quiet at night, but not so far that any kind of long walk is necessary. The train station is also very nearby. The service and the five star breakfast are what really recommend Abbey Lodge, though. The breakfast features five substantial choices, along with a full array of continental items (including fresh scones!) served in a lovely atrium. Do not miss it! John was kind enough to cater to my somewhat impatient parents, and even waited with us for a taxi, just chatting. If you want the real down home Irish hospitality, I think you couldn't imagine a better place.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon_chamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights over the May bank holiday - the rooms were large, equipped enough but the decor was just ok. The reason to stay is the location (2 minute walk to town), the service (the innkeeper was wonderful - lots of recommendations and tips) and the breakfast (hot and really good!). A great hub for exploring Killarney and the Ring of Kerry or Dingle.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmr240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We traveled to Killarney this February so my daughter could compete in the All-Ireland Championships. This was our second trip in 4 years and we stayed here at Abbey Lodge both times. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet, and the owners, John and his wife, are hospitable and accommodating. We especially liked the full breakfasts served in a cozy dining room with all food cooked fresh to order. The location is close to the center of town and is a great base for sight seeing trips all along the coast. Abbey Lodge is a great value.
Bill Beacham, Enfield Ct.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whbjr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Abbey Lodge is beautiful. The person who greeted us I think is the owner and not friendly at all. The people who work there are wonderful. Great breakfast and location.
Diana

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana8887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 km away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 143 in Killarney
470 reviews
0.4 km away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#15 of 143 in Killarney
476 reviews
0 km away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#48 of 143 in Killarney
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Ashville House
Ashville House
#11 of 143 in Killarney
223 reviews
0.1 km away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
426 reviews
4.2 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge

Address: Abbey Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney V93 E022, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $109 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine Irish welcome awaits you at Abbey Lodge B&B. We are situated 3 minutes walk from Killarney town centre, complimentary WIFI is available. The house is tastefully decorated throughout and features many interesting antiques and art. The accent is on friendly personal service backed by the highest standards throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing