We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better B&B experience!”
Review of Friars Glen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friars Glen
Ranked #1 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No better B&B experience!”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We had been travelling for nearly 3 months when we arrived at Friars Glen. We had stayed in a variety of hotels and B&Bs but none provided the level of service, location and friendliness that we found at Friars Glen.
Booking from the Internet can be a lottery but the reviews we read convinced us that we were on to a good thing here, and they were right.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbob42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    29
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
329
688
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at Friars Glen. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was 5 star service all the way. A refreshing cup of tea in front of the fire and Mary's information was a great way to start our few days in Killarney. Mary and Bridget present the best breakfast and any additional information needed for a perfect day of sightseeing! Mary and John were the perfect hosts and the room was neat and clean with everything we like in a B&B. A walk to Molly Darcy's Pub for dinner was well worth it with great food! Thank you for our special time at Friar's Glen.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Friars Glen is a fantastic bed and breakfast run by John and Mary with the help of Bridget. Our first night in Ireland was our best thanks to Friars Glen. My husband and I arrived at the bed and breakfast in the afternoon after getting off a 7am flight and trying to do too much driving and sightseeing in one day (Blarney, Ring of Kerry). We were greeted by Bridget and two champagne retrievers. Bridget brought tea up to our room before we took a much needed nap. The b&b is cozy and tasteful. Our room (the Willow Room) was on the second floor with a huge windowbox of flowers. The furnishings were comfortable - I liked the mattress a lot. Great bathroom.

John gave us good tips for navigating Killarney and gave us a good overview of restaurants according to other guest's recommendations. I really appreciate that tact - I don't like staying at a hotel where the patrons recommend their friend's restaurant that may not be that great. John was completely neutral but informative. And our dinner in Killarney was delicious.

After a good night sleep, we went to breakfast. The breakfast is amazing - great cold options on a buffet, such as yogurt with fruit and honey and cereals. Bridget brought out tea and coffee and we ordered Irish breakfasts. I found I even like black pudding. The tomatoes were fresh and the sausage was amazing. Earlier, a red stag appeared in the field next to the breakfast room.

We stayed at Friars Glen on the last night before they closed for the season. Even so, they never rushed us. In fact, Mary took the time to answer our questions about the Irish presidential election which was in progress and our conversation was a highlight of the trip.

Mary also gave us good directions for getting to Dingle, the next point on our trip.

One big tip: Ireland does not have postal codes. GPS doesn't really work so well (despite what we were told at the rental car stand in the airport). The best thing that happened to us was our GPS dying. Don't type in "Mangerton Road" for instance - GPS will take you down by Kenmare, quite a distance from Killarney. Instead, read Mary or John's confirmation reply e mails for exact directions. They're detailed and easy to follow.

Room Tip: The Willow Room on the 2nd floor is quiet, has good light in the day, and is spacious and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1775DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have just returned from a tour of Ireland with 3 friends to celebrate our 40th birthdays. If Killarney National Park, Muckross House, the Ring of Kerry or Dingle are on your list of places to see - this is an IDEAL location. The guest house is neat and clean. Mary and John were the perfect hosts - greeting us upon arrival and assisting with every aspect of our stay (including arranging for a boat tour in the park, suggesting hiking trails and helping us to plan our tour around the Dingle Peninsula). The drying room is a brilliant feature - we were wet and cold each day after touring/hiking in and out of rain - and the ability to dry out out clothes each night was SO helpful. A hot breakfast was provided each morning. John owns the garden center next to the guest house - so the grounds of Friar Glen are an experience in and of themselves. The location is literally around the corner from Muckross House, downtown Killarney and the park entrance. We enjoyed local music and dancing at a pub right around the corner which was a highlight of our stay. There are lots of housing options as you drive through Killarney town - but this one is just on the edge of town; which feels less crowded and yet was very convenient. As an avid travel planner, I would gladly stay at Friars Glen again and recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Gorgeous setting. Lovely home. Gracious host Mary was a wealth of helpful information.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricKes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
8.3 km away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
2.1 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,115 reviews
0.5 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Loch Lein Country House
3.0 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
4.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Glen

Property: Friars Glen
Address: Mangerton Rd | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price range (per night): $52 - $89
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friars Glen is a four star traditional-style country house offering guests top quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We have ten en suite, spacious, comfortable bedrooms that are quiet and restful. We offer an extensive. delicious breakfast that includes a cold buffet and freshly prepared to-order choices to set you up for your day. Friars Glen has a homely, friendly good humoured atmosphere and with experienced advice we aim to help our guests make the most of their holiday in Ireland's South West. Surrounded by mountains and woodland, Friars Glen is located 5km from Killarney Town and within Killarney National Park, close to Muckross House and Gardens and in the centre of the Park. There are many hikes and trails from our doorstep. Friars Glen is an ideal centre for day tours to Ring of Kerry, Dingle and West Cork. For however long you choose to stay at Friars Glen we assure you of great accommodation and lots to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Friars Glen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing