We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time - but not of 5* standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Kerry, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely time - but not of 5* standard”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here recently for one night with my partner. We wrote a friendly personal email to the hotel for the attention of the manager after our stay but it thus far has failed to be even acknowledged (4 days ago). While we had a pleasant and relaxing time, the hotel is not, in my opinion of 5* standard which is a shame. Our observations (rather than complaints) were:

We stayed in Room 227 - large, clean spacious room. However, the following were noted:

Large horizontal crack in ceiling coving running the length of the bed size wall
Scuff marks on white skirting boards in room
Bedroom window did not close
Large crack / gap in doorframe sorround entering into bathroom
Large crack in bathroom wall running by vanity mirror
Rotable vanity mirror head does not support itself
Dirty / missing grouting lower half of shower
Dirty / discoloured rubber seals and silicone seals in shower
Cracked floor tile in bathroom
Plastic cover on bath plug hole control / overflow came off
Unable to operate tv while lying in the bed (remote - tv sensor)
TV listings page missing from in-room guest directory

Our visit to the Cloisters Spa:
Missing mosaic tiles in steam room nearest sauna
Missing and loose tiles on thermal loungers
Broken wooden seat / foot board entering into outdoor hot tub
Brown staining in grouting places in the pool area.
Dangerous unseen ledges and underwater handles in pool area (bruised shins!)


The outstanding postitives of our stay were most definately the quality of staff and customer care. We frequent 5* hotels regularly and all the staff all deserve to be highly commended. We had a wonderful meal in G.B Shaw Restaurant and were very impressed with the standard and quality of food. Reception staff organsied a complimentary fruit basket and chocolates for our room when they became it was a birthday weekend which was a thoughtful and personal touch.

Overall a nice weekend but unfortunately our personal experience on this occasion was that it lacked the quality of finish of a 5* hotel. Shame that such rectifiable issues are letting the overall experience down ;( A response from the hotel to the original friendly email would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plektrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Past Guest,

My sincere apologies that you did not recieve a response to your email. We had email problems in the hotel last week and unfortunately we have realised some emails did not get through to us. As you will see from my previous responses to Tripadvisor emails, I do my utmost to respond to every guest. I also send an email to past guests who booked on our website seeking feedback on their stay and endevour to answer every email personnally. I spend many hours each week personnally dealing with guest feedback, as I believe it is very important to do so. I have gone through every email in the last 10 days into the hotel email address, but cannot find your email.


I thank you for highlighting the issues with your room. I assure you I will be immediately addressing these with our Maintenance Manager & Accommodation Manager, as this is certainly not the standard we have in our accommodation department.

Regarding the spa, the hot tub seating was repaired as soon as we became aware of the issue. We have replaced the mosaic tiles 3 times in the steam room and thermal loungers, but unfortunately they continue to become lose, so we are now trying to identify a permanent solution. I also take note of your comment regarding the unseen ledges in the pool and will work on addressing this.

I am delighted to read you experienced outstanding customer care during your stay and had a wonderful meal in GB SHaw's.

I assure you we will be undertaking to address the issues you highlighted and rectifying them. Thank you again for your feedback.


Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    231
    133
    51
    23
See reviews for
254
897
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and from arriving to departing - everything was wonderful...the staff were so helpful. Our room was lovely - situated on the first floor - large room with lovely bathroom. We used the Spa also and had treatments and everything was so relaxing...I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read you enoyed your spa treatments. Our therapists all recieved over 90% in their refresher exams with our Spa brand Aromatherapy Associates recently, so they certainly are at the top of their field.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muckross again shortly.

Kind Regards,


Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was an amazing place to stay. The hotel its self is very classy. We had a package that gave us a very nice dinner included and a large room with a king bed. We used the spa which is well appointed and comfortable and very quiet. Soft beds and linins, incredibly helpful staff was always near by with suggestions and tips. The park is wonderful. We rode a "Jaunty Car" for 40euro for about a 2 hour ride around the park. Worth every penny. The cart driver was friendly and knoledgeable about the park and very accomidating. The lake is amazing and beautiful and i am sure VERY cold.

Room Tip: Get a King bed. Its worth a little extra. This hotel always has packages with Spa, room and meals th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abqgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Past Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your stay, Dinner and your time in Cloisters Spa. Your feedback is much appreciated.


Kind Regards,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

This was our fourth stay in 3 years. We like the country setting, and the fact that the pub, Molly Darcy's, attracts we tourists and the locals as well, giving it an authentic and warm feeling. Great vibe in there as well with the decor. Cloisters, the spa, has a quiet and excellent layout. Steam room, sauna, pool, indoor and outdoor jacuzzis, and a relaxation room with skylight windows to lay back and watch the ever changing clouds. We have stayed in the George Bernard Shaw suite. While not for those seeking the most modern room, this particular room in the original portion of the building reminded us of top hotel rooms in a day gone by. The rest of the rooms we have stayed in are modern, comfortable, and a good place for rest before and after the Ring of Kerry. There is no need to leave the facility. Friendly staff, and good reading areas. We will return.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted to read it is your 3rd visit to the hotel. Thank you for your kind feedback on both Molly Darcy's Irish Pub and our Cloisters Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a 4th visit.

Best Wishes,

Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was one of my two favorite hotels on our recent trip to Ireland and England. It is a beautifully furnished Victorian style hotel, with a fantastic and large spa for relaxing, which was included in our hotel rate. Our room was spacious, and beds were comfortable and large. Although we had a view overlooking the roof,it was not a big concern, given the fact that the rate was very reasonable. But what sets it apart in my mind is the caliber of service of the reception desk and concierge. The concierge was happy to help us with any request from getting a cup of tea to helping us with our luggage. He actually refused a gratuity which I eventually got to him. Service above and beyond. Muckross Park is a couple of miles outside of Killarney, so a car or taxi is needed to get there from town. The grounds are in a beautiful setting overlooking Killarney National Park. Definitely hope to stay there again on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peripateticpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanODriscoll, General Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that reception & concierge were so helpful to you.

Best Wishes,


Sean O'Driscoll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.6 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,168 reviews
7.4 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.5 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
7.4 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.9 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): $241 - $814
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing