We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A little gem....Charming, Peaceful,& friendly.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem....Charming, Peaceful,& friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My family and I have stayed in this hotel on two different occasions in 2011 and can't wait for it to re-open again in March. We were greeted by Marion in reception and this lady couldnt have been nicer, she was so welcoming and made time for everyone . All the staff were very helpful and friendly.The reception area has both character and history with a beautiful fireplace which two Queen Anne chairs at either side of it. The bedroom was out of this world, really spacious with a walk in wardrobe and a victorian style tub in bathroom with heated floors. They have a tennis court for the more sporty enthuasists. The choice for breakfast and the breakfast itself I have to say was the best I have had in any hotel. This hotel is ideally situated to explore Killarney and Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justagirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    85
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
95
227
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had a Great time here. Used
the Cahernane House as our base to explore the area. Nice little cellar bar, friendly people.
On the edge of Killarney's National Park, You can not go wrong staying here. Doug

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DouginCorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed two nights at Cahernane House on our honeymoon in May 2009 and let me start with the positives. The best thing it has going for it is the exterior. It charms the pants off you as soon as you see it. When you walk inside, you can feel the history and character. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. It is in the perfect location to act as a base for exploring the Ring of Kerry. There are also many other things to do nearby, the national park, Muckross Gardens, Ross Castle, Ladies' View, etc. The bathroom was also very nice, with a claw-foot tub and heated floors.
The room, however, was really just average. The bed provided probably (no, definitely) the worst sleep we had on the entire trip. The mattress didn't breathe at all, so it was quite hot and uncomfortable.
I would still highly recommend this as a nice place to stay in Killarney, due to the central location and overall character.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

...due to low occupancy. We were reassigned to the Lake Hotel which is a sister property. We enjoyed the Lake property but be forwarned. Hope to experience this on another visit.

Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JetBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

went for my 40th birthday, when we arrived we were greeted by the staff,they up graded us to a magnificent suite over looking the grounds . this hotel and the service made us feel like royalty.the bar staff were fantastic,the room was luxurious,the food was excellent. over all can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomoreKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.5 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.7 km away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
5.5 km away
Killeen House
Killeen House
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.6 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Property: Cahernane House
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price range (per night): $191 - $374
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing