We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, Will return!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Couch House in the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Couch House in the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The Couch House in the courtyard
Sitting Area
Sitting Area
Dinning Area
Kitchen
Arch to the Courtyard
Coach House side view
Bedroom No. 1
Bedroom No. 1
Bathroom to Bedroom No. 1
Bedroom No. 2
Shower in Bedroom No. 2
Top of the Muckross Road
Road down to The Priory
The main house - The Priory.  The Coach House is located in the back in the courtyard.
Aghadoe - a 10 minute drive for this view
Derrynane on the Ring of Kerry - 90 minute drive
Half way up Torc Mountain (10 Minute Drive Away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
CheraKay
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect, Will return!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I have been planning our trip to Ireland for more than 5 years. We did so much debating on whether we should do a tour or go it on our own. Once I found The Priory in Killarney the choice was made! We would go it on our own. My husband took the wheel and drove us everywhere. This place was the perfect place to venture out and do day trips of the area. We stayed for 7 nights! We did the Gap of Dunlow tour, Mucros Gardens and GIFT Shop :). We drove the Ring of Kerry and also ventured to Valencia Island and the Skellig Ring. We went to Dingle and drove the Slea Head drive and saw Fungie the Dolphin (just amazing really you must do!). We also went to Mizen Head on the recommendation of Tim (who is FAB by the way). The last day we took a hike aroung the Torc Waterfall and it was a perfect way to end our week. Tim and Bernadette were the perfect hosts. They have 4 beautiful children and they love their home and property and treat it with loving care. The Coach house has 2 bedrooms and 2.5 baths. A beautiful kitchen, dining and living room complete with fireplace. This is in a secluded area and just so peaceful. It was the perfect place to come home to at the end of the day. Tim gave us recommendations for the grocery store and a pub close by. The White Gates Pub was perfert and had excellent food!
The linen's in the Coach house were so luxurious and we all slept like babies. Plenty of hot water and beautiful bathrooms. Loved Loved the kitchen too. It was just PERFECT. Thank you Tim and Bernadette for you Hospitality! Thank you for making 5 years worth of planning so worth it! God Bless your beautiful family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beauty of the property and the bed
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelbyOH
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“So, when can we come back?”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I actually stayed five nights in another of the cottages, Teach Mor and absolutely loved it! A welcomed break from hotels and B&Bs we were so warmly welcomed by Tim, Bernadette and their great kids. They even let us use their grill to BBQ one night. The homes (for that's what they are) were lovingly decorated and our first peat fire was already set up for us. Beds incredibly comfy, baths are gorgeous and such a treat to be able to do laundry on vacation. The website does not do justice to the lovely cottages (especially after seeing the before pictures in an album Tim shared). Oh, and fresh scones on arrival! We are going back!!!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGRG123
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored stone building”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The coach house is a beautifully restored stone building that looks exactly like the website pictures. The look is "old world rustic" but the appliances and bathrooms are definitely the best of modern convenience. There is even a full sized washing machine and dryer - a real rarity in Ireland and much appreciated by our family of four!

Tim was very friendly and informative and even showed us how to start a peat fire which added to the cozy atmosphere. What a great place to relax in the evening. And the scones Tim brought to us on our first morning were an unexpected bonus!

We only stayed two nights and it wasn't enough. There is so much to do in the Killarney area. The coach house would be the perfect place to spend a week of sightseeing and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari O
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular Stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My parents and I stayed in the Coach House. The whole property was grand and adorable. It was like staying in a fairy tale cottage. It is located a short walk from town but is quiet for restful sleeping. It is a great location for plenty activities, you can go to the dingle peninsula or a bus tour around the ring of Kerry to exploring the beautiful Killarney National State Park and the unique Muckross house and the Torc waterfall. We spent 7 days here and had a lovely time. Tim and Bernadette were extremely helpful and provided excellent hospitality. They seemed to know exactly what we would like and provided loads of helpful tips on everything from day trips to where to go for seafood or steak. I would highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to the various activities and the helpful tips of the owners
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMajesty...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, definitely best self catering we've found in Killarney”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Getting a nice self catering property in Killarney is a bit of a challenge we've found over the many times we've stayed there. There is nothing worse than an unloved holiday rental.

The priory cottages are at the other end of the spectrum. They are individual, a bit quirky, well thought through with nice touches. The hosts are lovely and the wood burning stove was a god send. Wi-fi great for being able to work surf.

There were a couple of things we would have changed, but they were minor and are the kind of touches that would move these holiday cottages into Bruern territory in terms of quality. A welcome pack would have been a lovely touch, more information on the local area and things to do and some tiny decorative changes. Blinds on the velux please to keep the kids sleeping!!!

All of the above are nit picking as we had a lovely week in a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood Burning Stove, individuality,
Liked least: Nothing really to complain about.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing