We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Divine!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
Ranked #29 of 182 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Divine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Quirky restaurant with fun and helpful staff. Delicious food with an interesting menu. Especially good chocolate mars mousse served in a glass jar. Good atmosphere too....thanks

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EttaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    201
    67
    38
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorooka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

I had read reviews of this, and was looking forward to trying it. The decor is interesting and eclectic and the staff were friendly. The seating area we went to whilst we waited for a table was interesting and the music was to our taste. That's the extent good aspects of our dining experience. My steak was so very tough and a complete waste of money. It was so far away from being acceptable that We won't be chancing a return visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IngridEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The place to go for steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The place has been recommended to us by reception at hotel Ross, as we asked for the place which serves a good steak. We were not disappointed, as the steaks were great. Mine felt a little bit too salty on the edges though, but otherwise a really great meal. Steaks are huge and very filling, the baked potatoes are awesome.

The place is quite casual, in an interesting style. It also was pretty busy on the evening of our visit, at the end some people got turned away because the restaurant was full. It can also be noisy - not for the romantic fine dining.

The service was a bit slow, we were not in a hurry, so for us it was OK, but some couples around us looked annoyed.

Would recommend for steaks if you're not in a hurry.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blackbodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I can highly recommend the Steaks. My Girlfriend and me shared a 850gr "special of the day" beast of a sirloin T-Bone-Steak which was grilled to perfection!! It came with salad, garlic butter, baked potatoes and very tasty chips (the best I've eaten in Ireland so far, comes very close to the good ole belgian fries!).
We also had fantastic mussels in white wine, garlic and cream as a starter.
The interior of the restaurant might not suit everybody's taste, but we really liked the unusual combos like the old fashioned photo-wall on the one side and grafitti-paintings in the stairway

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lukas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great steak, but issues elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We ate there before our "4 peaks challenge" climbing the highest peak in each province over oine weekend. Some staff were new, the menu looked very attractive, supplemented by the Irish made beers available on the wine list, all was very appealing. Our disappointment started with the absolutely TINY portions of starters, hummous and olives...and even the beers were poor value as they were small bottles for a large-ish price (though they tasted excellent) Mains were better, I had a char-baked sea bass which was very good, though its a farmed fish and this is the peak fresh fish season! Steaks were really good, and we had no dessert. Our bill came, and was decent value, a bit on the expensive side, but we were then presented with another bill for drinks, some of which were already on the menu...this "event" is something I came across before in other countries, billing mistakes leading to possible over-charging ..it left a bad taste, and would be enough for us to say we wouldn't go there again.The food was pretty good, but that was a bad error.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing