We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Chips”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #17 of 201 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

But what would you expect, right!?
Such a cool place, no seating when we got there but no problem we just ate At the bar. Staff are accommodating and greeted us with a welcome smile.

Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Hi Susan ,
Many thanks for a great review ! We appreciate your compliments and patience as far as tables are concerned. It can get pretty busy in the evenings but we try to welcome and seat everybody within a reasonable time.
All the best ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 256 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017

The meal was well worth the few minutes wait for a table. It gets very busy on Friday evenings, so it's worth going early. The staff were very attentive and the food arrived promptly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Hi Eileen ,
Thanks for submitting a nice positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Murphy's Bar experience !
Best wishes ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We visited Murphy's multiple times during our stay in Killarney. The food is excellent and I must recommend the lasagna. The portions are quite large so you can easily split the portion with another person. The staff at Murphy's are friendly and offer outstanding service. It is a busy pub in the heart of Killarney and they offered live music in the evenings.
If you are fortunate enough to have either Kay or Catherine as your server, consider yourself lucky! They are the best!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JCC3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Hi JC ,
Many thanks for an amazing review ! Catherine and Kay much appreciate the compliments. We are delighted you had such a memorable experience and hope to see you again sometime !
All the best ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Lively bar with music and plenty of sport on the various televisions dotted around the bar. Bar food also available although we didn't eat there

Thank Stepho123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Hi Stepho ,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a positive review. You will have to call again sometime to sample our menu !! So glad you enjoyed the lively atmosphere .
Best wishes ,
Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Didn't eat here (did at Squires Bar, an extension of Murphy's next door), but did spend a great evening drinking & listening to authentic Irish music. When they found out I was from Texas, they played "The Yellow Rose of Texas"!

Thank scphel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean-Maire-Murphy, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Hi scphel ,
Thanks for submitting a nice review . We really appreciate your support.
Delighted that Texas was acknowledged for you, but we're not really too surprised because we are very proud of our quality musicians !!
We hope your trip to Killarney was a big success !

Seán & Máire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing