We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no irish welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
College Crest Guest House
Ranked #32 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
millisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no irish welcome”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

guest house was just ok bit dated clean though.no irish welcome greeted by polish girl no hello or even welcome bedroom standard ,mould in bathroom heating on once a day very cold it was february !! ah we did get a goodbye when leaving no atsmophere at all ...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeneMillisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    65
    36
    6
    6
See reviews for
41
72
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed here in August, and loved it. Have recommended it to lots of people since. The rooms were spotless, the beds were really comfy. It is perfectly located only a few minutes walk from Eyre Square, but quiet enough to ensure low levels of noise at night. The owner was lovely - really accommodating. Breakfast had something for everyone. Very reasonable price-wise considering the location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VintageLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

The location is great if u want to enjoy in the centre and then go back to sleep walking, it's just 5-10 minutes. Ample parking in front of house. We got room 14 which is lovely with king size bed and tv. Slightly small toilet but clean and with good pressure in the shower. One great point is blinds on bedroom that allows total darkness for a good sleep. Breakfast is ok, for personal taste I would grill the bakon to have it crispy and eggs should be slightly less cooked. Overall is great, highly suggested. We paid 55€ in two for one night, which is good

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan-Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We had selected College Crest Guest House based both on good reviews and on its location - in comfortable walking distance from Galway Centre. Our car could stay at the Guest House and we explored Galway on foot.

Our room was large and quiet. Equipped with beds for four, the only drawback was no real space to sit down in the room. On the other hand, the lounge was comfortable and we spent one rainy afternoon there, nicely supplied with tea and cookies, reading, surfing the network and playing a game.

Helen, the owner, made special efforts to accommodate some dietary special wishes and was also very helpful in any other way. Should we come back to Galway in the coming years we would surely consider the Guest House again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicurPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2010

My wife stayed here recently for one evening on our honeymoon while we toured across Ireland. It was our first exerience at a B&B. We chose College Crest based on its location to Quay St and reasonable price. In general, its not a bad place. Its clean and the location is 5 minutes from all the things you'd wanna do. We were on the first floor, which was really noisy. We could basically hear everyone as they came in from being at the pubs. The place was a little dated as well, but if you're looking for a erasable price for a good location, its worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 187 in Galway
640 reviews
0.1 km away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#38 of 187 in Galway
217 reviews
0.1 km away
Lynfield B&B
Lynfield B&B
#105 of 187 in Galway
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#21 of 187 in Galway
129 reviews
0.2 km away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 km away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#16 of 187 in Galway
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Crest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Crest Guest House

Property: College Crest Guest House
Address: College Crest 5 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price range (per night): $100 - $401
Hotel Class:3.5 star — College Crest Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your College Crest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Crest Guest House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing