We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of College Crest Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
College Crest Guest House
Ranked #33 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Exceptional quality standard, service and staff. Rooms were great with plenty of room. Well set up. Parking was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    62
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
67
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

If you want to walk into Galway this is the ideal location. Also there is plenty of parking out the front. Unfortunately when we stayed there were lots of college students staying, nothing against them generally but when they play football in car park at 3am it's a bit annoying! Out of all our Irish accommodation this was the most expensive, yet the room didn't have a chair to sit on and there was mould in the shower. The breakfast was good, but unfortunately the milk was off, which rather spoilt it. It's a big guest house so probably not the best choice if you want a quiet life.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hlodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here for a night while visiting Galway. It is a large guesthouse, so it is pretty impersonal, but the staff seemed rushed but decently friendly. This B&Bs best feature is its location, which is a five minute walk from Eyre Square. It is nothing remarkable, and the rooms are sparsely furnished.

The double room we reserved had two twin beds pushed together, which wasn’t overly comfortable. The room could probably be a bit cleaner, but it was fine for a night. The walls and doors are quite thin, so we woke up often when people were coming home at night, though there were signs everywhere telling people to be quiet. On the positive side, the breakfast was good and the shower pressure was great. Also, we appreciated that they provide some toiletries in the bathroom. Overall, price seemed high for the place but probably in line with other B&Bs in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portlandman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Hostess was wonderful. Terrific hospitality. She was very helpful with our accommodations and in giving us tips on things to see in Galway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here while traveling through Ireland; our travel buddies chose different B&B's in the Salt Hill area. My boyfriend and I were pleased with our choice and the location of the College Crest since we did not want to spend money on taxi's, shuttles, etc. The College Crest is about an 8 minute walk to Eyre Square which was perfect for us. The proprietor, Helen was fantastic; very sweet. She was especially helpful when we needed to find the phone number to the Killary Adventure Park in Connemara Nat. Park.

The house itself was also nice. It was quaint and I, personally, enjoyed the classic, traditional style facade and decor. Our room was on the 3rd floor and we did not have any problems with noise from other guests or from the neighborhood streets. Though we flew by the seats of our pants for most of our trip around Ireland, this was one of the places that we booked online...which made it so easy! When we booked, they only had 1 room available and luckily, it slept 4 but was the same prices as a double.

The room that slept 4 was nice and spacious with a king (or queen - I'm not sure which) and 2 twins lining the exterior wall and a closet, dresser and bathroom on the opposite wall. Unfortunately, there was not much table/counter space in the room or bathroom. I ended up unplugging the 9-12" TV and putting it in the closet so I had somewhere to put my luggage. We were only there for 2 nights and I did not unpack my entire suitcase so, I needed some room to work with out of my luggage rather than hanging my clothes in the closet. One of the first things my boyfriend said as he "made himself at home" was that there was no counter space in the bathroom for his shaver or even his toothpaste.

One bigger hurdle that we encountered was the credit card machine; or lack there of...as the case ended up. When we arrived there was a sign posted that relayed that their credit card machine was "out of order". There was also a sign that said, payments must be made upfront. Well, the lack of credit card machine was a problem since we had limited cash Euro. All said and done, we had to go to an ATM to ensure we had cash to cover the bill (only a small portion is charged as a deposit by booking online). Getting cash from an ATM is always an issue when traveling since you have to pay ATM and exchange fees. College Crest did however, let us pay in cash upon departure rather than payments upfront.

Other than the counter space problem and no credit card machine, staying at the College Crest was ideal! We loved it. Helen was wonderful, the other guests were friendly, the breakfast was nice and the dining room was cozy. I would definitely stay at the College Crest again and hopefully if and when I do, Helen will still be the proprietor.

Room Tip: Call and verify the credit card machine works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hutt0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 km away
Copper Beech Bed & Breakfast
0.5 km away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#37 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Lynfield B&B
Lynfield B&B
#104 of 197 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 km away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 km away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#9 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Crest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Crest Guest House

Property: College Crest Guest House
Address: College Crest 5 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price range (per night): $76 - $302
Hotel Class:3.5 star — College Crest Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda and Wotif.com so you can book your College Crest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Crest Guest House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing