We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead central, fab decor ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We wanted somewhere central for one night in Galway and you can't get more central than this. Steps away from the (very tight) car park (get your ticket stamped for a substantial discount) and right in the heart of Galway. Stylish reception and beautiful rooms, with comfy beds and a spacious bathroom. We struggled with the Nespresso machine, but didn't ask for help (which I'm sure would have been forthcoming!). The bar downstairs is great, with a good selection. The breakfast bags are fine, and work well. Recommended: we would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JennyMac223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residencegalway, Front Office Manager at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you were so happy with so many aspects of your stay here at The Residence Hotel and that you liked our breakfast bag.
Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted that you are looking forward to returning to us as we look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

The hotel is in the perfect location for seeing galway and for nightlife. They don't have parking but provide a discount on a nearby carpark. The hotel itself is very modern and well decorated. Staff were all lovely and the breakfast bag outside your bedroom door is a really nice touch! Only issue was that the rooms were very warm and we couldn't find a way of controlling the temperature but overall we had a great stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residencegalway, Front Office Manager at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you were so happy with so many aspects of your stay here at The Residence Hotel and that you enjoyed our breakfast bag.
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Great location but don't use the car park next door as it's a nightmare it's very tight to park and you or someone else will damage your car!! It is expensive but maybe that's because of its location they leave a breakfast bag outside your door in the morning yogurt muffin orange juice and there is also a great coffee machine in the room which is a nice touch staff very friendly and we will probably stay here again depending on the price but overall very happy with our stay here!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DDDsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residencegalway, Front Office Manager at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you were so happy with so many aspects of your stay here at The Residence Hotel and that you liked our breakfast bag.
Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted that you are looking forward to returning to us as we look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

stayed recently.........very noisy hotel........

if you can get over the night-time noise, then the location is great. ideal for browsing Quay Street and side streets.
The problem is really at night....lots of loud singing, shouting and general mayhem.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JABDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residencegalway, Front Office Manager at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are located in the lively Latin Quarter section of Galway City Centre and regrettably we can do very little about noise that comes from the street. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you may choose to come and stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Booked a 2 night break at end if holiday in Galway. The Residence is ideally situated at end if Quay street and even though it is a really noisy part if the city at night time you can hear nothing from the rooms Staff are really helpful and friendly . Rooms are a little dark . Ideally situated for getting about

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residencegalway, Front Office Manager at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. In particular is was great to read that you found the Team so friendly and helpful during your visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to us.

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,143 reviews
0.7 km away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
105 reviews
0.6 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
946 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#17 of 46 in Galway
1,536 reviews
1.9 km away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 14 Quay Street | Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly The Spanish Arch Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $113 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Arch Hotel
Spanish Arch Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing