We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY!”
Review of Almara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Almara House
Ranked #11 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just a lovely B&B.....Matt & Marie were just wonderful with suggestions on where to go and what to see. The room was extremely neat & clean...And the breakfast was delicious. Thank you for making our stay special.

Patrice & Walter
Chicago, IL
USA

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneSwtP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Matt and Marie were great, and what seems like a little place was awesome. This is one B&B we will definitely visit again. Easy drive to Connemara and City Centre. Thank you both for a great visit

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VLDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I were booking our accommodations in Galway rather last minute and we found Almara House via the Bed and Breakfast Ireland website. I sent them a direct enquiry via e-mail and got a very welcoming reply.

The B&B is located in a small development off the main highway. We found it no problem thanks to an Ordnance Map of Galway (always good to have!!) and Google maps, which showed us the exact location and a picture of the B&B.

Matt and Marie were very helpful recommending pubs in town and letting us use their phone.

There are actually very few B&Bs located in the city centre, so we didn't mind having to commute a few minutes into town. Getting into the centre of Galway was very simple. We drove to a car park and spent very little on parking. The bus also stops near to the house.

Matt and Marie have made every effort to provide what they think their guests need (e.g. the only B&B we stayed at that had hair dryers in the rooms!).

You MUST have Marie's porridge! She soaks the oats the night before and includes honey and a shot of Bailey's on the side. It is spectacular!!

We truly were welcomed into the family and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtaggart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My family of four stayed with Matt and Marie in December, and must say we thoroughly enjoyed their accommodation, and wonderful choice of breakfasts including our favourite
Eggs Benedict with Hollandaise. The rooms offered fluffy towels and toiletries, and I loved the feel of the soft Duvets and memory foam pillows. We have wonderful memories of Almara House. Our GPS refused to work while we were in Galway and Marie kindly offered us the use of her Sat Nav.





us hers

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Was hard to find to start with. Room needs some update. Breskfast not too bad and very friendly owners.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 153Walt_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
3.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,034 reviews
5.8 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,243 reviews
2.8 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,859 reviews
2.9 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara House

Address: Almara House 2 Merlin Park Merlin Gate | Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $104 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almara House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an elegant AA 4 star family residence. Guide du Routard, National Geographic, Arthur Frommers, and The Italian Touring Guide recommended. Contemporary Rooms with complimentary WI-FI, Fridge, Hospitality Tray, Mineral Water, Hairdryer and choice from our Extensive Breakfast Menu. Located in the city suburbs just 5 minutes drive from the City Centre. Tours to The Cliffs of Moher and Connemara can be organized and you are collected from our Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Almara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing