We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
250
175
61
42
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
175
61
42
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eyre square night porter christmas market central location car park excellent location lovely city galway city train station shop street scones breakfast room stayed for one night room was large would highly recommend this hotel noise receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The location of the hotel was perfect, right in the middle of the city. We had a really warm welcome and the staff were very friendly and made some great suggestions for place to eat, pubs etc. On that note the attached pub was excellent and is well worth a visit. They also run a free walking tour but due to us being there at New Year it wasn't on. The room and facilities were excellent. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean with a great shower. We got a fantastic price for the room and will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Tim H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was delighted to read that your time with us was a most enjoyable one and that you got to experience all the wonderful things Galway city has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2018 for another visit.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Spent one night in this Hotel recently. On arrival we were met by a very friendly girl in reception. The room was good size and had all the basics. One big problem with the room was the heating was not working properly. The room was very cold. On arrival for breakfast the next morning we were met by a very friendly waitress. The breakfast was excellent. It was freshly cooked and plenty to eat. It was well priced and you could park your car for €10 for 24 hours was I thought good value . If the heating was working this would be a good hotel to stay in.

Room tip: Make sure the heating is working in the rooms
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merdedes220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear merdedes220,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel and apologies with the issues that your experienced regarding the heating in your room. We here at The Skeffington Arms appreciate all feedback that we receive as it is a great way to continue to grow and improve as a business. When you have an opportunity could you contact our Front Office Manager, Lisa, on lisa@skeffington.ie as she wishes to discuss your stay further with you. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Skeffington Arms Hotel in the future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

The bar manager couldn’t have been more rude.he made 0 effort to accommodate us even though we had booked an area the day before.they lied about booking.telling you us that 20 people who book finger food don’t get a table saved.”you just have to eat it wherever”. We had called twice to confirm booking.avoid for groups!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: December 2017
2  Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Alan O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. When you have a moment could you contact me on ashling@theskeff.ie with the date of your visit so we can discuss this matter further.

Kind regards,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the years but this last experience was awful.
First off the electrical in the room shorted out and couldn't get it sorted out until the following day.
The noise of drunken guests running up and down the halls was too much this time.
Also the music from the bar downstairs bled through the ceiling until two in the morning. Not ideal when you have to get up early for the airport.
The staff was friendly but some of the managers seemed very stiff and not approachable.
The food was good but one Saturday we couldn't get seated because the place was very popular with the crowd visiting the Christmas market.
Centrally located and walking distance to shopping and dining.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank wpd91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear wpd91,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel and apologies that your time with us was so disappointing. When you have a moment could you contact our Front Office Manager, Lisa on lisa@skeffington.ie as she would like to discuss this feedback further with you. I hope this one bad experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Kind regards,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel great location great staff. Very lively place. What an old Irish hotel should look like. The beds could be better but the pub and restaurant made up for it. I took my eighty year old husband with a walker and it was easy going for him. He loved the place and was so glad it was not boring. The music was wonderful. Would definitely recommend it. However, if you are looking for a quiet cushy place it is not for you. The hotel has great ambiance and very comfortable. The location is unbeatable.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cdynice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear cdynice,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. It was great to read that both yourself and your husband had an enjoyable stay with us. I'm delighted that you both got to enjoy some real Irish hospitality and we look forward to welcoming you both back for another visit in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Group Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews