We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location + Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Galway
killea ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location + Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just home from a 2night break and had a great time! Was checked into our rooms by a fellow donegal man and made us feel so welcomed. room was clean and well kept and loved the 2bars of crunchies on table. we had breakfast in bar twice as its served up till 12noon,and the bar menu is also great.and not forgeting a great cocktail menu. Bar staff were fab! so nice and welcoming...overall great hotel great food and great staff. look forward to returning!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amtd101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you both back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    150
    46
    29
    42
See reviews for
50
187
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

If you're planning to stay in Galway (which is a tourist trap and absolutely not like anything described in the guide books) avoid this place like the plague. Nothing works from the TV to the A/C, I'm surprised there is water coming out of the faucets. And the pub next door has a disco going almost every night with earthshaking music until 2am, followed by drunks yelling and shouting for another hour outside the place. Do yourself a favor and bypass Galway in general and this hotel in particular. Stay in a nice place in the country and enjoy Ireland for what it is. This town is nothing more than a huge frat party and a tourist trap living on past memories....

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernieindallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Skeffington Arms Hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time in Galway City, it is a busy city and its coming to tourist season so there is a few more festival happening in the City. When making a booking and also again on check in we inform every one that we are city centre and we do have a pub next door. We have live Irish music from Monday to Friday and a Dj on weekends.

If you could email me on your details and I’ll check into your booking as no guest has complained about TV or air con not working while staying with us Lisa@skeffington.ie


Warm regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here for one night in Galway. The staff is great, location good, and food excellent. Do try the scones or porridge! Rooms are compact, but clean and modernized, plus the lift is a big help if you have larger suitcases.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

A hug thank you to our fabulous cocktail maker and shaker - Mikey. Both bridesmaides hoping that our lovely sister (the hen) would enjoy her cocktail making session were delighted with the attention and humour Mikey provided throughout this evening. I secretly think my mum fell for Mikey and his charming ways!!!! :-) The whole party were in stitches lauging and of course sampling delicious cocktails at the same time, in a very relaxed atmosphere. We also got to put our own skills to the test and conjured up a few tasty and 'tangy' drinkies.I would highly recommend that you try this fun and interactive session as a starter to a great evening onwards. Thanks to the Skeffington Hotel and Micky of course. Our Zilla (the bride to be) left the Skeff beaming from head to toe :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AC8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your stay with us at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, Eyre Square. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell others. I’ll pass on all your wonderful comments to all our staff. Especially Mickey he will be delighted to hear some feed back.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Galway City soon.

Warm Regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Place was clean, people were great. Excellent location. Good place to eat and have a Guinness. Convenient location. Park at the Metro across from the park for cheap money

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you both back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.3 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.2 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#30 of 45 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price range (per night): $152 - $266
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing