We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Returned to Galway and to my favourite hotel The Skeffington during the Easter holidays. After a few visits one feels like its returning home as the extra friendly staff greet you by your first name and I love the "thank Crunchie its Friday" complimentary bars to welcome you. Location cannot be beaten and neither can the delicious breakfasts with great home-made scones served until 11 and later in the bar if necessary where you can relax with your complimentary newspaper. A previous reviewer gave an unsavoury review which I think is grossly unfair. There is a nearby enclosed car park, covered by security and costs as little as 10 euro per night when they stamp your card at reception. We were en route from an overnight stay in a hotel in Clifden where we had to pay "Pay and Display" on the street for the day. This is pedestrianised Eyre Square, internationally famous Galway and a University town bursting at the seams with young people and tourists who are out enjoying themselves at the week end. If one is tired and wants door-step car parking, an early quiet night with no noise it may be better to stay outside the city. We are a couple in our 60's who love the buzz of the Skeffington Bar and being able to walk to shops, restaurants and activity packed Shop St within minutes. There is a set-down area where you can drop your bags and go and park your car safely. For the first time on this visit we ate in the bar and were delighted with the quality of the foot which is inexpensive. Thanks to all who make our visit special every time. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kearnsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your stay with us at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, Eyre Square. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I really appreciate you taking the time to tell others. I’ll pass on all your wonderful comments to all our staff.

We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back over the summer months, lots to see and do in the City and The Skeffington Arms is ideal for your base right in the heart of the action.


Warm Regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    150
    46
    30
    42
See reviews for
50
190
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

oh and the staff is nice - otherwise, what a dump! Can't pull up in front of the hotel to drop off your bags and closest car park is more than 5 minutes away. No big deal? What about dragging luggage through the car park and across the square to the hotel? And trying to get info from the front desk on where the car park is? Drove around for 1/2 hour with the front desk sending me in circles. The place is so run down - the hallway carpets are all stained as are the walls. The room I'm in stinks of urine and the sink in the bathroom has a huge crack with the worst fix it job I've ever seen - would have been better to leave the crack. I read all the other reviews and decided to stay here and now I'm here to tell you - stay away! It's party boy/hen night heaven - so if you're young and want to drink your face off and just walk upstairs - go for it - but anyone looking for a half decent experience for a hotel in Galway - go somewhere else. So disappointed - after driving hours to get here from the south I'm in a 2X4 room that looks like a college dorm room. Yuck!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel and taking the time to submit your review. I was delighted to read your comments about our helpful staff as we always place a high emphasis on customer care and also our location we are extremely central.

I was disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the room as our rooms are always cleaned to the highest of standards and we have never had any issues with cleanliness in the past. As we are a City Centre Hotel and like most hotels in the city we unfortunately do not have a car park adjust to our hotel. We do give a map of the car park attached to confirmation letters as to where we are located. Our street is pedestrianised from 11.00am until 6.00am. I was specking to the receptionist who was dealing with you on the phone and she did try her best to give you step by step direction’s to the car park. Apologies if you didn’t find these helpful we do try our best to give the best directions to the car parks. 100% Guest Satisfaction is very important to us and we aim to get this right with every guest I am saddened if we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion.
Should you wish to stay in Galway again please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel on lisa@skeffington.ie and I will make sure your stay is an enjoyable one.

Warm regards,

Lisa Nee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in The Skef as we were attending a function in Galway and wanted a very basic room for a night but we got much more that we bargained for. Check-in was extremely quick and efficient (why can't all hotels be like this?). On entering the room I immediately realised I had the wrong impression of this hotel. The room was lovely- very spacious and comfortable with a hint of luxury. We had more than enough room which a lot of hotel bedrooms lack. The room was spotless and the bathroom was gleaming. The bathroom was really lovely also.We didn't have any dealings with any staff other than the receptionist who, as well as being very efficient, was very welcoming and pleasant without going overboard. Would not hestitate about returning and have recommended this hotel to many

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzymc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Skeffington Arms Hotel and thank you also for your very valued feedback. It was a pleasure to share your post with our team during our weekly review of guest feedback.

All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us recently and your positive comments regarding the comfort of the hotel rooms and indeed the professionalism are all very welcome.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Warm regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel

The Prince of Wales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Skeffington, over two stays, and in two different rooms, and both were excellent, especially for the rate we paid. Neither was expansive in size, but more than adequate, with modern bathrooms and showers. Very clean and comfortable, with LCD television. Individual heaters and very nice closet space. We particularly enjoyed the tea and biscuits in the room, especially when we slept in our first evening in Ireland and missed dinner! The breakfast room is lovely, with views of Eyre Square, and very substantial portions. Totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlProfessore21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Galway City. I was delighted to read that you thought so highly of your stay here at the Skeffington Arms Hotel .Your comments in relation to the quality of our facilities and service are very much appreciated and will be passed on to our team here at the Skeffington Arms Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed one night over the Christmas period and had a lovely stay. The staff were very friendly, the room clean and very well presented. We had a complementary drink in the bar and stayed there for dinner with friends. Good quality pub food. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you both back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
608 reviews
0.4 km away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
33 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.2 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#29 of 45 in Galway
628 reviews
0.2 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#32 of 45 in Galway
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price range (per night): $130 - $265
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing