We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“After a bump - the perfect stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
121 reviews
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Penthouse apartment
Standard Apartment
Penthouse apartment living room
Penthouse apartment living room
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Master Bedroom
Two Bedroom Standard Living Room
Kitchen
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Master Bedroom
Standard Apatment Living Room
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Twin Bedroom
Standard Apartment Sea Facing Balcony
Standard Apartment Sea Facing Balcony
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Front of the house
Salthill Beach
Front of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Norwegian first
Polish first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
ibstravel...
california
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“After a bump - the perfect stay!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived to an "ok" apt and then realized that one of the rooms smelled moldy and like fresh paint (a horrible combination). After a LONG drive from Giant's Causeway (literally across the country) and 1 hour of trying to find the place, it made us very cranky. Turns out there was a ceiling leak and, instead of fixing it completely, there was a fresh paint job. The bathroom was also old and needed some major TLC. After spending the night in the living room, they ended up moving us to the top floor. What a difference! It was like a completely different hotel. Roomy, spacious, gorgeous view from the rooftop balcony/deck. Hot water and washer/dryer took us forever to figure out - so make sure you get very clear instructions on how to "turn on the water heater". It's on a weird timer. But everything else was pretty perfect. Super fast wifi, clean kitchen, including a water boiler.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya H
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
“Perfect stay , perfect place , perfect location - Just perfect”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From the warm welcome we got when we checked in i knew we were going to love it here.
The apartment was divine - we had booked a two bed penthouse & the panoramic views were just breathtaking - what a way to wake up every morning i tell ya ...just fab .. we were all catered for i.e - Travel cot & high chair had been left for little one which was sooo convenient .

OK limited utensils but ALL the essentials were there - i.e - tin opener, corkscrew etc - i mean your self catering after-all & there were plenty of family eateries 5 mins away or the city a lovely 20 min stroll or the bus outside the door . What more could you ask for .
We are only home a few days & are already booking for next year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location , convenience , car parking on site ,
Liked least: If i had to be critical i would suggest curtains in living room , even if thin .
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen9...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for a great trip to Galway”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely property situated on Upper Salthill road about a 10 minute taxi ride from Galway city. The property is actually part of a renovation of the Waterfront hotel. The room I booked had two generous sized bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a living area. Also, the balcony offered absolutely stunning views of Galway bay.
We arrived in Galway at 7.30pm and made our way to the secure entry door, I telephoned the number supplied and was given the code for the door. As there were no staff on the premises at that time, the keys to my room were in a key safe box which was opened under instruction over the phone. I had paid a 15% deposit and had received instructions to contact Malachy (the caretaker) the following afternoon to pay the balance. I found this quite relaxed and I did appreciate the fact that we were not rushed into anything as we were quite weary from our journey. The owner made it very easy for us.

There are a few shops, bars and restaurants in Salthill. Everything you need is on the doorstep. Almost next door to the building is a lovely restaurant called Lohan's. Although we only did have breakfast here the staff were really friendly and the food was good. At dinner time, you can buy wine from the off licence next door and take it in to the restaurant to have with your meal.

We walked into Galway and spent a lovely day walking around the city. The cathedral is a must see and the museum was great. There are plenty of shops and Quay street is a must for bars and restaurants. It was difficult to pick, but my favourite bar of the trip was Taaffes on Shop street. Great live music and a friendly laid back atmosphere. Pretty much Galway in a nutshell!
We also took a lovely walk along the promenade all the way to Knocknacarra. With views across the bay to the Clare mountains, the scenery was simply stunning.

If you are looking for accommodation at a reasonable price this is the place for you. Galway is a very friendly place and if you ever get bored of the many (many!) pubs, then there are plenty of activities to fill your days. We didn't quite get round to visiting all of the pubs so I'll be going back soon.

Go raibh maith agat Gaillimhe, bhí sé spraoi!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views over Galway bay.
Liked least: To be honest, there were no down sides.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isi22
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I hoped this apartment would be as good as it looked online - and it was! Location is perfect with view over Galway Bay and even a little balcony where we could enjoy the September sunshine. Great parking facilities and a lovely welcome from Johanna. A lovely 30 minute walk into Galway City or a bus from the front door. Apartment is well equipped and I would definately stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Galway Bay Sea View Apartments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good accommodation, but.....”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the spacious apartment which had a brilliant view across the bay to the Burren. The booking process and welcome by the caretaker was excellent, as was the prompt service in replacing a faulty toaster. I would have rated the accommodation as excellent, but the apartment had a spartan feel about it. The sitting room didn't have any curtains, and the kitchen was lacking in utensils. We had a microwave, but there were were no plastic utensils to use for cooking. Although this was a bit of a spoiler, I would still recommend the accommodation and its position - since it is ideally positioned for visiting the surrounding area both north and south of the bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the apartment and its view
Liked least: Lack of kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing