We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff and rooms”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Got married here in March 2012, had a fab day. Very family friendly, staff all helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladydaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,192)
There are newer reviews for Galway Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,574 - 2,578 of 3,192 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days over the easter. The hotel was full and very busy. The welcome when we arrived to the hotel was lovely, our son checked in for us (he is six) and Jiri at reception went along with the whole thing and our son had great fun with this. The room was nice and whilst it overlooked the car park, I wasn't going to be spending too much time there anyway!! The hotel was providing a easter camp for the kids and our son availed of this and he had a great time. Our package included two nights dinner in the lobster pot and whilst there was some delay in between courses, the staff were very attentive and apologised for delay and did their best to look after us(special thanks to Marcel, Orla and Barbara). Breakfast was buffet style and had a very good selection (in fact best I have had in a hotel in ireland in a long time!).

All in all we had a lovely easter break....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear ‘FussyTraveller55’,

Thank you for this super review and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel over the Easter period.

All on the team are delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us and have asked me to pass on to you a very sincere thank you. The team members you mention Marcela, Orla and Barbara in the Restaurant and Jiri on Reception are all delighted to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium and you have made their day!

We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was recently co-organising a conference in the Galway Bay Hotel and we choose the venue according to a word of mouth recommendation. It proved to be an excellent choice as both the hotel facilities coupled with the helpfulness of the managers and staff meant that we had a seamless and stress free event. The hotel listened to all our requests and were extremely helpful and attentive with any last minute changes that we needed made to the function room, stage or setup in general. I would definitely hold another event here if we were to return to Galway city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear ‘TaraTours’,

Thank you most sincerely for this super review and thank you also for choosing to hold your event here in the Galway Bay Hotel. We are a very popular venue for all types of conferences with feedback similar to yours being the norm. We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I went to The Galway Bay for Easter. When we booked in at we were asked what time we were having dinner as the dining room was nearly booked for that night.We went out to eat as it was good Friday.The room was clean, It overlooked the carpark.which was not ideal. The next morning i was awoken by children running up and down the corridor. breakfast was delivered to my room and was on time.That night we went to the lobster pot dining room for dinner, I know they were very busy but thats not my problem.We sat for 20 minutes before a wqiter came near us.we gave our order and I wanted a glass of white wine which waited half an hour for. Dinner was ok the chicken was dry. Easter Sunday we went to a football game and decided to eat that night in the Bistro in the hotel. We went in and were told we would have to sit in a certain place as a kids club was coming in for tea. No way. We went to the pub belonging to the hotel and the only place to sit was with people peering over at us looking at a football match. We stayed as dinner was already included in the price. .....Big mistake ordered soup first atter an eternity it came out STONE COLD I called a waiter over abd sent it back. another lo///ng wait it came back with the same bread I had taken a bite of..Next my steak arrived I turned it over, black as coal called the manager over and he said Jesus Christ thats cremated and took it away. My husbands fish and chips were ok, I ordered them instead.I ate the fish. We asked to see the dessert menu . and ordered coffee to go with the choc cookie we ordered. Coffee arrived when we finished.What really bugged me was the glares i was detting from the wait staff They were busy so what.To be fair I filled out the comment card. and 2 days ago my husband got an e-mail offering us a free week-end the vouchers in the post apparently.

Will I go? maybe I will as the week end cost nearly 500e I will let you know how I got on.

Room Tip: ask for a room in front.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mari_ann_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear ‘mari_ann_7’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. Thank you also for this review.

I do genuinely regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you did not experience the true Galway Bay Hotel experience which we are renowned for. I am very happy that you received my letter sent the day you left the hotel and I would really appreciate the opportunity to chat with you. I can be reached at any time at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com.

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I would just like to convey my sincerest thanks to all the staff at the Galway Bay Hotel for the wonderful experience they provided to us and our guests at our wedding this past July. I could not recommend them highly enough; they were first class in everything they did for us. If I was to use one word to describe the Galway Bay it would be Professional, with a capital P! They were fantastic.

I would especially like to thank the manager Dan Murphy, our wedding liaison John Frazier and our duty manager on the day Diarmuid O'Conghaile and his colleague Valerie, who were both so professional and a pleasure to deal with. I would also like to give a special thank you to Willie Madden who was a tremendous help to us on the day after the wedding, and also to Victoria and Serge, who were a great help in the days leading up to the wedding.

We, as is becoming more common, returned home from Australia to get married, which meant that all the pre-planning had to be done through email and through various family members. As difficult as this was for us, I am sure it was not ideal for the Galway Bay personnel either, however the staff were extremely accommodating and made the whole process as stress free as possible. As we were only arriving in to Ireland two weeks before the wedding they allowed us to hold off on a lot of the final decisions until we could actually sit down with them face to face.

It was a large wedding, 300 plus, yet everything went like clockwork, not one hiccup, or if there was we certainly weren't made aware of it. We were absolutely blessed with the weather, and it really brought out what a stunning location the hotel is in. The patio deck, with the sun shining and the sea breeze, it really doesn't get any better than that. Even our guests from Australia were blown away.

As impressive as the staff were on the wedding day, I dare say they were even more impressive on the following day. We had talked with them in the week prior to the wedding about having some sort of food available on the day after the wedding as a number of our family members and friends had planned to stay on in Galway for a second night. They recommended a BBQ which we decided to go with, even though we couldn't give them final numbers until that day.

The numbers fluctuated on the morning after the wedding from 60 to the final figure of 120, yet the staff couldn’t have been more accommodating and it went off without a hitch. They set up the BBQ in the sunshine on the patio deck and served a beautiful meal, with plenty of food for everyone. Admittedly, the fabulous weather played a large part in the success of the BBQ, but we got so many compliments from our family and friends afterwards, it was the perfect way to round off a great weekend.

I really cannot recommend this venue highly enough, and my wife and I cannot wait to go back when we are next home, to once again convey our thanks and reminisce on the greatest weekend of our lives.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank del23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 km away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,562 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.4 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
5.2 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.0 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $150 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing