We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,739)
Filter reviews
1,739 results
Traveller rating
826
484
239
120
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
484
239
120
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure centre blazers bar dog friendly hotel beauty salon wedding reception wedding venue superior room lovely hotel relaxing break bar food bit dated enjoyable stay both nights galway city would highly recommend this hotel from start to finish top class
Filter
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 1,739 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

This is a quality hotel in Galway, Ireland. Beautiful, spacious room, lovely grounds, responsive/friendly staff. The building itself is large and spread out - it might be a long walk to your room. Cons: 1) it's not walking distance to the town center, so you'll need to hire a cab, 2) the kitchen is very slow for dinner. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank ChicoRanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2015

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments which, like all received into the hotel, have been communicated throughout the hotel.

Thank you for having stayed with us recently and we hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Myself and my partner were booked into the Ardilaun Hotel on a business trip. We arrived to a raucous and rowdy wedding at reception, and checked in. The entire hotel had a stale odour, and was incredibly dated and dishevelled in its appearance. We traipsed through a maze of corridors to find a very cramped and dated room, with a very tired interior and stained bathroom fittings, which also had a stale smell. We immediately called reception to say that the room was not up to a reasonable standard, and that we'd like to move, only to be told that the hotel was fully booked and that no other accommodation was available. We decided to go out for dinner, and to spend as little time in the room as possible, and move hotels for the following night. Whilst out at dinner, the receptionist called to inform us that they would upgrade our room, and move our luggage to a more suitable room. We returned to find we had indeed been moved to a very nice room for the weekend, one of a small number of rooms that had apparently recently been renovated. That night however, we didn't get to sleep, due to rowdy and loud guests screaming and shouting immediately outside our window (which overlooked the entrance) until well after 6am. We thought this might have been an isolated incident so took it on the chin, but the same happened on the second night. Where was the duty manager?! If there was one on duty, and they were competent in the role, why was this behaviour - which affected us, and other paying guests, allowed to continue? When we mentioned this to the receptionist at check out, she asked would we like to speak to a manager; we did, but no apology was proffered, instead he shrugged it off, explaining that there was a wedding, and that wedding guests were usually put in these rooms. Ineffectual and inefficient handling of a genuine complaint, but hardly surprising in this Fawlty Towers style hotel. AVOID this excuse of a hotel at all costs, there are several other hotels in the immediate vicinity that have a similar star rating and price point such as the Galway Bay Hotel, and the Salthill Hotel, both of which I have stayed in, and which are streets ahead of the Ardilaun.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
5  Thank Kerrups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Dear Mr. Davis,

Thank you for having stayed at our hotel recently. It is with disappointment that we read your TripAdvisor post following your stay with us. As you are aware, we have made efforts to discuss your feedback with you in person but it is your preference that we respond online to your post.

At all times, it is our aim that guests enjoy their stay with us so we endeavour to do all possible to ensure this. While we strongly disagreed with the comments that you made in relation to the hotel décor, style and upkeep, we managed to allocate a different room to you. Thankfully, we are enjoying a very busy season – this resulted in it not being possible to arrange the room change for you immediately once you spoke with our reception staff member but we were more than happy to work on it for you as quickly as possible.

The Duty Manager you refer to, and who you spoke with during your stay here, has been with us for over 25 years and is a very valued and dedicated staff member who regularly receives compliments from guests and visitors. We do not accept, and take offence to, the comments which you have made about him.

Since we opened for business in 1962 – over half a century ago – we have welcomed thousands of wedding couples to the hotel on the day of their wedding. Wedding couples, their families and friends always enjoy the celebrations here at The Ardilaun – it is unfair and unacceptable to describe wedding guests as you have done in your comments.

We continuously bear in mind to allocate rooms above wedding celebration areas to wedding guests in order to have quieter rooms available to allocate to other guests of the hotel – this was the case with the room which was initially assigned to you. While it was in good faith that we moved you to another room, we apologise that this affected your sleep comfort.

At some point in the future, we hope that you will reconsider and will stay with us again.


Yours sincerely,
John Ryan, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here 2nd week of June 2015. I was here earlier in the year and had some issues, see review elsewhere. The hotel MD John Ryan promised to attend to the points I raised. Boy, he has done really well - take a bow. Booked the reservation over the phone and was greeted by Bernie at check in. Some lady- courteous, polite and efficient, all with a smile. Room and bathroom was clean, tidy and well presented. Ate in the Blazers Bistro and it was the first night of their new menu. The staff seemed all on edge about the first night menu, but it was timely and beautiful- the lamb neck was beautiful!! :-) Went to the sauna and jacuzzi the next morning as my back was at me following a recent road race- great facilities in the leisure centre. Check out was prompt, efficient and as always Bernie wishing me well and hoping to see me back soon - le cunamh de. Top notch, first class, excellent location and exceptional value for money. John and staff- a well deserved bow and applause to you all.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank Enda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2015

Thank you so much for your review Enda - we are all so delighted to know that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us.

As is the case with all comments received into the hotel, your review will be communicated throughout to each department.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

We found the hotel very unique and quaint. Our room was so nice and comfortable, overlooking the front of the hotel. It was very quiet though. The location is convenient to the downtown area but more in a neighborhood setting. The staff was very friendly. We only had breakfast here and it was very good with a nice selection. We really enjoyed spending some time in the bar/pub - lots of character and great drink choices. We noticed people having a bite to eat in the pub - would be a great place to spend an evening after a day of touring.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DLSproul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your really lovely comments - we are so delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We thank you also for sharing your feedback with other tripadvisor users.

Hopefully you can return again in the future and enjoy our hotel again.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Lovely Hotel. Lovely food. Breakfast was great with lovely fresh food. Staff were so helpful. Could not do enough for me. Highly recommended. Lovely leisure center also.
Suitable for all types of meetings. Close to Salthill and Galway City. Well worrth a visit.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the Gardens. Nice and quiet on the 3rd Floor.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John1542c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRyanMD, General Manager at The Ardilaun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2015

Thank you so much for your wonderful review John - we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Ardilaun Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews