We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 212
USD 199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 190
USD 177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
USD 125
USD 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 204
USD 196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oranhill Lodge(Oranmore)
USD 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102
USD 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
USD 112
USD 106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
USD 113
USD 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,641)
Filter reviews
1,641 results
Traveller rating
667
621
235
78
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
621
235
78
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkshop streetnice hotelfew minutes walkhen partyeyre squarebreakfast was includedlocation is excellentcentral locationstayed here for two nightslatin quarterwould highly recommend this hotelspanish archirelandhenseuropubs
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 1,641 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the harbour this weekend. Hotel and bar is nice. Location is very good. Room was cramped but not really an issue. Had to pay for the car park which is a bit ridiculous considering the cost of the 2 night stay.

The issue is the staff. Individually by and large they were pleasant. However they seem to be oblivious to customers. Had to go up to the bar after waiting 15/20 mins at our table to get someone to take our order, was at the bar for 5 mins as waiting staff walked past me and seemed all flustered even though there was only 10 people in the bar. Then proceeded to give us the wrong food and overcharged us. The evening before I had a pint served to me in a filthy pint glass. Brought to the attention of the server and he proceeded to clean the outside of the glass with a dirty cloth with the beer already in it. He eventually realised this wasnt right and poured a fresh pint.

But the biggest issue was on our last night stay. There was a full on brawl in the lobby between travellers who had been at a birthday. 30 MINUTES later the bar staff decided to call the police. 30 minutes of people beating each other up in a hotel lobby before a member of staff decided it might be a good idea to call the police.

Managment would want to review their training of bar and waiting staff as it is terrible.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank Colm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourTeamGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest

I have tried to contact you to discuss your review with no success and with such serious allegations contained in your review I would be most obliged if you would get in touch with me personally to discuss the content of your review

It is disappointing that Tripadvisor allows such reviews to be published with no verification and which can have damaging consequences to our business

I would be most obliged if you would make contact so I can clarify any issues you may have had during your recent visit

Please contact me personally to discuss

Kind Regards

Stephen O Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My visit did not entail an over night stay in the hotel, but i visited for Afternoon Tea. The menu is set so no option to choose your sandwich filling. Which i didnt like. We were seated in the hotel lobby which is cozy & tastfully decorated. Unfortunately during our visit the clearner was hoovering around us for over 40mins. Buzz kill. Major let down on the hotels behave. I understand the job had to be done, but before or after our booking. The food was sitting awhile after prep id imagine. The cheese in the sandwichs was chewy. Desserts was delicious. Presentation was great. Service was scarse. All in all i wouldn't go here for Afternoon Tea again. Parking is validated for 1hr 30mins only.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Galwaygirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourTeamGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent visit to the Harbour Hotel

It is disappointing to hear we did not get everything right on the day and my sincere apologies

We will take your feedback constructively to improve future guest experiences and I would hope that you would give us a second chance

If you wish to discuss further please contact me directly

Kind Regards
Stephen O Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We got married in Galway June’17. The Harbour hotel went above and beyond to make our reception wonderful. Emer and her team are amazing! We put our total trust in Emer and we truly appreciate all of her hard work both before and on the day, and her patience with us too. As I was a few weeks pregnant at this stage I was concentrating more on the baby than the wedding. We picked and changed, rearranged etc, and she was right there to help and take over where she could! The hotel was made up beautifully and we were even greeted at the door by the staff with a red carpet! The check in staff were all very kind, the bar men on the night were friendly. The food was AMAZING. Our guests were blown away by the standard and selections of the meal and still mention it to us to this day. The staff were even so helpful as to squeeze in one extra last minute (on the day!) guest and his vegan meal without quibble. The room was set u for us and laid out perfectly, with a few nice touches and a great sweet table too!
Having the Dilisk bar there was great also as our friends and family who stayed with us in the hotel were able to join us for tea and meals. The food was fab and staff super friendly! The rooms were warm, spacious and very clean. The bed was superb too, very comfortable after a long night of dancing! The location was perfect for all of our guests, we wanted them all to be able to walk around and enjoy Galway without the need for taxis etc. Parking was great too.
I would highly recommend The Harbour, and especially Emer, for weddings and parties. We are so thankful she was there to arrange everything for us, and happily surprised by all the little extras she did for us on the day too. The hotel staff really helped to make our day so memorable, they are so friendly and happy to help at all times. Dan at the check in desk was brilliant, he was very professional and warm. He helped us with our room allocations and was always on hand to answer our (many!) questions. Knowing our guests were being cared for after they had travelled hours for the wedding was very important for us, and many commented on Dan’s friendly welcome and swift check in.
We can’t wait to return this year, with our new baby in tow!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank skellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Had a very nice stay at the Harbour Hotel. Great location and easily walkable to the city center. Easy parking. Great breakfast. Loved the breakfast which was included in our room rate. Nicely remodeled rooms. Staff was very accommodating and understanding to our road weary family.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kbonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

this hotel is a gem i have stayed here twice,the staff are amazing and very professional and well dressed,the food os beautiful,seafood chowder is the best i have tasted in a long time,the hotel is trendy classy and spotless,the rooms are cosy and clean and well kept,i could not fault thos hotel,its right in beside everything,a little gem in galway we will be back soon! Thanks

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ashling29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews