We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hospitality and fantastic position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Forge House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Forge House B&B
Ranked #50 of 196 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pistoia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality and fantastic position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Forge House B&b is in a fantastic position! To get there by car you don't have to go through the city center traffic, then you can leave you car in the free parking (it's beside the building, in front of the recording studio) and just walk to arrive in the center of Galway in five minutes.
We've really appreciated the hospitality, nice room with all the comforts we needed and a delicious irish breakfast.
If you visit Galway, I suggest by my experience to keep in mind this B&b.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_sir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    24
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Deloris and Bernard are great hosts. They are very friendly and more than willing to help make the best of your stay in Galway. Deloris set up a bus tour for my boyfriend and I to visit the cliffs. She cooked a delicious breakfast for us every morning and was accommodating to my vegetarian diet. The room we stayed in was very cute and relaxing. This b&b is in a prime location only about a 60 second walk from the city center. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbcrabtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights and were very warmly welcomed by Dolores and her family. The breakfasts were great and Dolores went out of her way to ensure we were comfortable. The place has lots of charm and character which makes it feel like a real Irish family home. The room was clean and tidy and was perefect for us. I would definitely recommend this place as it is conveniently located and run by some great people!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Forge B&B for 7 days in January 2011. We were very pleased with the wonderful hospitality given by Delores and her family! She was very accomodating and helpful with our stay in the beautiful area of Galway. Her breakfasts were wonderful--plenty to eat!! We would definitely stay at this B&B again, A++++++!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puggieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is a great B&B and very close to all the central bars, shopping streets and Galway bay. The rooms are very clean and have en suite bathrooms, TV and Wifi is available free. The full Irish breakfast is enormous and delicious. Dolores and Bernard give everyone a very warm welcome. I would recommend this B&B for a short stay. For the location it is very good value. The beds were comfortable and it is in a quiet street., so you get some sleep. Pubs, shopping, the bridges, sights and Galway Bay are 5 minutes walk away. I would stay there again definitely.
E Forshaw

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElForshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 km away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#22 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.2 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 km away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#32 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#23 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 km away
Eyre Square Townhouse
Eyre Square Townhouse
#77 of 196 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 km away
Corrib House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge House B&B

Property: The Forge House B&B
Address: The Forge 42 New Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price range (per night): $57 - $112
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forge House B&B is a charming period house. It is ideally situated beside famous Irish music pubs, restaurants, theatre, University College, hospital and shopping areas. It has its own private car park and there is a TV in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Forge House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing