We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure its 'grand'”
Review of Wards Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wards Hotel
Ranked #106 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Value for money Bed and Breakfast, comfortable, good breakfast, good pint of Guinness. If you are not too fussy this place is 'grand' as the Irish say. Its a bit old in terms of décor but has a charm of its own nonetheless. The rooms were clean and the pub was cosy with a wood stove, good atmosphere, no trash music and sports TV as required.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor at back very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Gannet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Wards Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2015

We stayed here at the end of August - on arrival we asked for a menu and were told that they were not serving food that day! On allocation of rooms we were put at the very top of the building with lots of stairs to climb No sign of a lift. The rooms are very small and shower room/bathroom are very small also. Beds were not comfortable and signs of damp in bedroom. Overall I could not recommend this hotel to anyone as in my opinion it is a public house with rooms above!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry562015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Stayed in July for a long weekend.
Rooms are above a popular bar and have plenty of entertainment at weekends.
Whilst the rooms may appear dated they are perfectly functional with all the usual amenities.
We particularly liked the bed which was very comfortable, also loads of wardrobes etc for storage.
Our room had a small room adjacent with a single bed , we did not have any children with us but be perfect for a small family.
Check in was efficient and hassle free as was check out.
Parking was available at the rear of the property and a separate entrance if you wanted to enter/leave without going through the bar.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend in Galway , nice walk along the coast from Salthill to Galway and walking distance back from the Spanish Arch area of Galway.
I also liked the rooms , not pretending to be anything they aren't , really comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hawkwind23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Nice place, nice people, brill service and drinks,

Came over from Coventry for a family event - would highly recommend this place

Prices are average for the area and local people sing and play music there all rounder for every age group

Well done

Stayed: July 2015
Thank roddym_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Stayed here for a night on route to the Aran Islands. Location was great as we could walk to the city and also Salthill. Rooms were small but perfectly formed, although a little dated but we expected this, especially as the price was cheap.
bar was well stocked and after we spent the night in Taffes in the city we came out to find the Golf on and the bar still serving...delightful for my hubby who loves golf. Really friendly staff, great Guinness and a perfectly cooked breakfast in the morning to cure the sore head! Would stay again without doubt.

Room Tip: For a cheap stay, friendly staff, great breakfast and a great location - stay here!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 km away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#30 of 188 in Galway
165 reviews
0.6 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
87 reviews
4.3 km away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 188 in Galway
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#143 of 188 in Galway
56 reviews
0.4 km away
Anbelle Lodge
Anbelle Lodge
#21 of 59 in Galway
29 reviews
1.3 km away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#6 of 59 in Galway
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wards Hotel

Address: 17 Salthill Road Lower, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $125 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Wards Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Wards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing