We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific afternoon!!”
Review of Irish Food Trail

Irish Food Trail
Ranked #6 of 40 Food & Drink in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Irish Food Trail brings you closer to the heart of what it means to be Irish! You will meet and dine with the local Irish people, and visit 3 traditional Irish restaurants, where you will get to sample and share some hearty, typical Irish cuisine, which will be influenced by our Tapas sharing nature, and to be enjoyed with a glass of wine or beer in each venue.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

What a delightful way to spend the afternoon in Dublin. Grainne is a knowledgeable, passionate guide, with just the right balance of history, humor and food stops. It’s the best way to learn interesting bits of history while sharing a meal in three parts with fun people. DO IT!! One of the best guides I’ve had for any experience!

Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Adv_Team, Owner at Irish Food Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks so much for joining us on the tour. We love to show people how great the food is in Dublin and Galway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"irish coffee"
in 59 reviews
"boxty"
in 14 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 27 reviews
"baileys cheesecake"
in 5 reviews
"food stops"
in 4 reviews
"food culture"
in 4 reviews
"stews"
in 4 reviews
"tapas tour"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this food tour"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"great company"
in 5 reviews
"restaurants and pubs"
in 3 reviews
"final stop"
in 3 reviews
"small group"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 14 reviews
"local history"
in 3 reviews
"learning how"
in 4 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our guide Justine was fantastic, just the tour was poor and I should have done more research. We were on the food and drink Dublin tour, which consisted of three courses in restaurants around the center of Dublin. The first stop was starters, which was potatoes and beer, and the best of the courses. The second stop was at The Oak which was for fish and chips or beef and ale pie, the food was fine but you could have gone to any pub in Dublin and had the same meal. The last stop you made an Irish coffee and had a poor Bailey's cheesecake. There was not much history given about the food and drink in Ireland and they were unimaginative menu choices. We have been on a lot of food tours across the globe and this has been the most disappointing.

2  Thank Clairelod2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Adv_Team, Owner at Irish Food Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Claire, I'm so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your tour. We pride ourselves in giving a great customer experience and consistently recieve 5 star reviews. I can understand food is subjective but perhaps you were looking for a street food tour and not a dining experience. I would love to speak to you directly and discuss the food choices. Perhaps I could bring you on another tour with 3 different venus?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We went on the Dublin afternoon food tour with Justine and had a great time. The food was excellent and she gave us a great introduction about each restaurant before entering. While eating, she talked about Dublin's history, and it really just felt that we were eating dinner with good friends. I would highly recommend this experience!

Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Adv_Team, Owner at Irish Food Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for coming. Enjoying food with new friends is a great way to explore a city. Thanks for choosing to spend some time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We had a great time in Galway on the tour. John, our guide, was a lot of fun and filled with information and stories. The food was great at each stop and the beer was cold.

Rate it excellant

Thank Mike52228146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureTrails_ie, Owner at Irish Food Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thanks so much for coming. Hope to see you again on one of our tours in Dublin or Galway soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Booked a private Irish Food Trail tour as a corporate team building event and we'd highly recommend it! From initially inquiring about it until we finished up in our last venue, the company were so helpful and friendly to deal with. Grainne is a fantastic tour guide & ensured we were well looked after and entertained with great food, craic, stories and a few beverages along the way! We had a mix of nationalities on the tour and some locals and everybody enjoyed it and experienced something new during it! Highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to sample some Irish food and culture in Dublin city centre!

Thank Catriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny D, Manager at Irish Food Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi Catriona, it was a pleasure to have you all out on the Irish Food Trail last week. We hope to see some of you on the Whiskey or Tapas Trail in Dublin or Galway in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irish Food Trail also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
 

Been to Irish Food Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing