We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Real Irish Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Irish House Party

The Irish House Party
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 21.96*
and up
Dublin Traditional Irish House Party including Dinner and Show
Ranked #11 of 72 Concerts & Shows in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come visit us in our own home at The Lansdowne Hotel, a beautiful 18th century town house in Dublin and experience the very best of Irish music, dancing and fine food! The Irish House Party combines all the singing and dancing of a traditional Irish house party with a Dinner and Theatre experience. House guests are entertained by All Ireland Champion musicians and dancers but also learn about Irish music, dance and culture in a fun way. First our guests enjoy a delicious three course dinner in The Irish House Party Pub. Our restaurant offers Irish home style cooking with big flavoured traditional dishes. There is a full bar available selling a wide range of beverages. We also have an extensive wine list.After your dinner the host brings you into the parlor room for The Irish House Party show. Our venue creates an intimate and personal atmosphere where guests can meet and talk with the musicians and maybe even perform something themselves! A reservation is required for our show and private group bookings can be arranged for any day and time convenient to your group.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Real Irish Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Saw the party advertised on the internet and thought it would be good as children are most welcome and our daughter is only six years old. As we were in Dublin for three days we wanted to take in some traditional Irish music and dance, however without the "Riverdance" that seems to be the norm for entertainment.
Booking was easy and straightforward. Everton and Roisin were brilliant and welcomed us on arrival even though we were a little late. The atmosphere was amazing and the quality of the music and dancing couldn't be faulted. Our daughter absolutely loved it. After the show had finished the band came over and chatted with us too. We plan to go back to Dublin later in the year and this will be the first thing we will book to see again.

Brilliant!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    98
    34
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Music grand, food a bit ordinary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Venue above a pub - where the music was good too. Food was just like the food I used to get at boarding school - wholesome enough but nothing special. Wait staff overworked so got a bit thirsty at times. Show was superb - fresh, sharp, warm, authentic and highly professional. If I had to issue a recommendation - skip the meal and go for the show... but if you can only get a ticket that includes the meal, then go anyway. The show's that good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whirlygig, Manager at The Irish House Party, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hi Andrew, Thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed the night. The food is meant to be simple but wholesome reflecting our traditional Irish food and generally people are very happy with the meal especially with the choice of 3 starters, 4 main courses and medley of desserts.
Thanks for your kind comments about the musicians, I will pass it on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Time to enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Not to be missed; Dublin has so much to offer. Take time to enjoy

Helpful?
Thank 2freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirmasens, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

While in Dublin we were thinking what to do in the evening and found the Irish House Party rated on tripadvisor. So we decided going there in the evening. As we could not print out the tickets we went with a booking confirmation on our mobile phone only. Admission was easy and the person on the entrance was very nice. We were seated in the gallery and had a really good view of the stage. There are two ticket choices, one with one without dinner. The Irish House party consists of four musicians, one was also an Irish dancer. The music was brilliant and there had been explanations and storys on the different songs. The Irish dancer was amazing! However, the prices for drinks were as high as in a pub (7 EUR for a pint cider). Considering the admission fee I think this is a bit too high...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa_1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whirlygig, Manager at The Irish House Party, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hi Venessa,

Thanks for your review. Glad you had a great night at the house party. Just wanted to clarify that the price of a pint of Cider is €6.10. This is good value compared to other prices in Templebar and also the fact that we provide restaurant table service should be taken into account.
We hope to come to Germany some day to play so keep an eye out for tour dates in Germany on our facebook page!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second visit and loved it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I brought a group of friends to the Irish House Party in December and it was brilliant.I had been before in the summer of 2010 and had always wanted to bring my friends to see this show . They have now moved to a new venue in the city centre and it is lovely. There is a winding staircase into the room and a great view of the ha-penny bridge from the windows. The show itself was even better second time round. I just love the way the musicians connect with the audience and the performance was amazing. Don't miss this if you want to experience Irish music in Dublin.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank con10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Irish House Party also viewed

 

Been to The Irish House Party? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing