We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break in Dublin”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #30 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Lovely hotel, good standard of accommodation. Room was on first floor facing the street so felt a bit exposed when curtains open, shame as lovely setting. Books deal through expedia so never know if you get a less popular room?
furnishings good and bed very comfortable.
The location, although a small walk from buzz of centre of Dublin was brilliant, good local pubs, restaurants and cafes. We did not eat in hotel as menu although good didn't appeal and breakfast was expensive.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
The only downside was the lack of tea and coffee replenishment and milk cartons for this hotel made it look cheap. We stayed at a premier in prior to coming out and they had a better selection and not just one tea bag each! didn't want to seem english and ask for more tea so my own fault especially as I did ask for some toiletries that were not replenished and felt silly for asking..!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 589 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed here on a business trip in 2011, and thought this was a great hotel. Cool and quirky and just a fun place to stay. Nice bar and restaurant, it's also in a good location, 10-15mins from the city centre on foot

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were drawn by the hip environment. W-like, youthful and colorful with fun decorative splashes. WiFi everywhere. In a residential neighborhood about a 20 min walk from the center city - a great walk as you'll pass many well ranked restaurants. Went for the upgraded room and it was so worth it - spacious, comfortable, heated floors in the bathroom, hot water maker for tea, and an excellent AC/heater that was even quiet! A few minuses... there is no place to work out on premises - and the place they have access to is minimal - so if a gym is important this place won't work well. The hotel restaurant's wine list is lacking for new world options... and the bottles we had were clearly not stored well at all. But overall we are glad we stayed.

Room Tip: go for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalCohenMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed at the Four Seasons in Dublin for two nights and then at the Dylan and it's the Dylan that wins without question. The rooms are lovely, helpful and friendly staff are on hand (Madison when I booked the room in particular). The place has style (does risk being a little OTT) but gives it a lot more character than places like the Four Seasons where you'd think you were staying in your Grans spare bedroom. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is just a tad away from the energy of the city centre. The hotel has a particular style which is just not for me. It lacks a chill factor, hinting at random opulence. Maximum use is made of the interior space. Reception is small (a good idea) but it does feel dark and interior. My room was large but very badly laid out. Sofa, tables etc bordered the wall. It lacked focus despite it being large with a kingside bed leavig a very odd sense. The staff is well trained and pleasant but... cold. I wish i liked it but the design is too jarring and I'm not sure if it relates to anything more than just the Celtic tiger psyche. It's priced at the high end. I'll pass on this one again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 km away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 151 in Dublin
591 reviews
1.4 km away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
1.3 km away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#18 of 151 in Dublin
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,501 reviews
0.9 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,447 reviews
1.5 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $262 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Preferred Hotels, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing